We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average- it's the little things that count”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I tried to write to Tsogo sun directly but their website isn't Iphone friendly so it's impossible to 'contact us'. They also do not welcome much feedback so this must now be in the public space.
For a hotel is such a prime location it definitely disappoints. The rooms are nice and clean, bathrooms tiny. Staff at reception are friendly and knowledgable but the room service staff are dismal. For a hotel that would lure international guests I am embarrassed. We stayed in a 'family room' there were only 2 towels in the bathroom. We arrived to a tiny shower (only one person at a time in the bathroom for sure) with no shampoo or conditioner (even the cheapest hotels in South Africa provide these amenities). We ate once in the foyer (as that is the best way to subscribe the resturant. Portion sizes were huge - food disgusting. Tried to order room service - no menu in the room. Tried to order ice - twice it never arrived dispite calling again.
Very very loud from the children screaming and running around pushing luggage trolleys into walls, which was fine - but if this is a hotel for Children why don't you have safety barriers at the pools? Parking scarce at night and the further you park away the less safe it feels.
Towels easily accessible - easy access to the beach.
No outside resturant is open at night. Plug points in room amazing. Hairdryer blew hot and cold air despite being on hot.
Very frustrating not being able to charge items to your room- you're in holiday - you don't carry your bag with you everywhere you go (again no warning until I had ordered the coffee with a friend).
Tsogo you are most certainly taking advantage of an excellent location. These are very small things that can turn a guests experience around and avoid making it feel like a budget
hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort Manageme... G, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear Sally
Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are a timeshare resort and therefore some items might have fallen short of your expectations. I can assure you that we addressed your issues and truly worked on the once that we can fix. Some items like parking is currently being addressed as we are looking at building an underground parking facility in the near future. Good news, our facilities has been upgraded and you can now charge your food and beverage to your room.

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 977 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Fantastic view, food, facilities and friendly staff ensure fantastic holiday!
We stay at the Beacon Island resort for 2 weeks end of April each year.
Fun for all. Activities for everybody. Lovely weather most of the time.

Room Tip: Good view in almost all directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steyl-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort Manageme... G, General Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear valued trip advisor reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your great feedback!

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Service was very good
The room was very relaxing and comfortable
The location is easy to find
The entertainment programmes i liked best.
The amenities is very good and also well organised
The least i liked was to depart

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Victor B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort Manageme... G, General Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear Victor

Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your great feedback!

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were allocated Room 103 - beware and do not accept these rroms. They are on top of the roof of the Restaurant with glass sliding doors opening on to this roof. The door is the only means of "fresh air" but people use the roof for smoking and walking resulting in cigarette butts, banana skins and other rubbish being dumped on the roof in front of your door! Being a roof "out of sight" it is never cleaned - we asked twice in 5 days for the area in front of our door to be cleaned! For security reasons the door must be kept shut and locked at all times and peope can see into your room when walking past as there are no net curtains?

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
2  Thank 278bruceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort Manageme... G, General Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear Bruce

Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

I am happy to report that we have upgraded the entire balcony and that we have installed windows to all of those rooms for your comfort. We are sorry if they did not meet your expectations.

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We drove for 14 hours to get to the resort which was well worth the drive. The staff were very helpful, the resort was clean and had lots to do for children. As it was timeshare we assumed it was self catering which it isn't which meant we had to eat out daily which we mostly did at the foyer restaurant which had brilliant service and was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort Manageme... G, General Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear Kim

Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your great feedback! Sorry for the confusion that we were self catering.

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have been to the BI many times, but this time we totally relaxed, did not drive around the area and we recommend to all out there, that to visit the BI is a must, as once there it will call you back time and time again. A truly fantastic resort where everything is just superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank David F T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort Manageme... G, General Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear David

Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your great feedback!

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Friendly service, very safe environment for the kids.The location is ideal, close to the beach and lots of entertainment for the kids and teenagers.Very clean and good quality of food. A very well run resort.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort Manageme... G, General Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Dear Silvia

Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor review for The Beacon Island Resort.

Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests.

We are truly glad that you have enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your great feedback!

Can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Reinhard Visser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
6 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
3.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
16.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $258 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing