We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beacon” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beacon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived in Plettenburg Bay after dark with no accommodation booked. We checked out 2 highly recommended hotels only to find they were closed for Juy due to renovations. As its name suggests, this hotel stood out like a beacon in the darkness, and out of desperation we checked in for the night. Immediately on arrival we were told that we'd have to pay for WIFI (except in the restaurant) until the next day. Really? A hotel of this caliber? That seemed a bit cheap to us. While our room was clean and attractively decorated, it felt very cramped. The bathroom supplied one bar of soap; shampoo/ conditioner and extra soap was absent. Indeed, we began to wonder if this hotel was experiencing difficulty and had to cut back on services. Dinner in the casual lounge area was good, however a situation occurred that made us uncomfortable. We had difficulty accessing the WIFI and asked the food and beverage manager to assist. She readily agreed, however when she sat at our table to help she reeked of cigarette smoke (which she acknowledge by waving her hands in front of her face). Shortly after, as we continued to eat, this same F&B manager chastised one of the servers at length right beside our table. This was extremely unprofessional. In the morning at the same restaurant, after waiting a significant amount of time to be served, we requested a menu. After another long wait of not being served we decided to leave. Service aside being very poor, we were aghast when, in the morning we realized what an environmental disaster (and eyesore) this resort is. This huge structure with manicured grounds is positioned directly on a rocky outcrop on a pristine beach. Yes, this means the views from the hotel are striking, but the damage this must have done (and is still doing) to the delicate ecosystem would be enormous. We were sorry we stayed here on a number of levels, and will definitely not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    188
    36
    16
    12
See reviews for
299
361
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff are very nice and friendly. Facilities are beautiful and clean. We just found that for 5 of us (2 Adults and 3 kids ) the rooms are tiny. We found the food in the lobby area to be very overpriced and not that nice either, better to go out and eat if you're looking for a pizza or something for the kids. We still haven't tried the restaurants. The indoor pool is an absolute winner for the kids in winter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a well deserved rest at the Beacon Isle during the beginning of August. This place is well run, clean, provides excellent service and the attention to detail makes this a perfect holiday spot. We had two days of rain and even then the hotel provided more than enough entertainment to prevent any boredom.

This is a family hotel, with lots of activities for children. We will definitely be back with our children in the future (Sorry Douw W).

Thank you for a great time!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view. When you book, just confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The setting, the hospitality, quality of accommodation but especially the uninterrupted views of the beach and ocean makes this place unforgettable.
The hotel is beautifully maintained and feels fresh and new.
The meals at the restuarants at the hotel were fresh,affordable and value for money.
We kept waiting for something to disappoint us but it never came!
The highlight of the trip was the walk at Robberg, a must do for any visitor that loves nature
We enjoyed every second of our stay and will be back as soon as possible

Room Tip: Room 508 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funlovinglulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nothing wrong with the hotel room, as a matter of fact, it was quite fine. But the number of noisy kids of all ages made our visit something to forget as soon as possible. If you do not want to be trampled by youngsters running and screaming like wild animals, then stay away. This is clearly the playground of rich, spoiled kids who have no respect for other hotel guests. I shall be spreading the message as wide and far as possible to warn everybody to stay away during school holidays, long weekend or any other period when these out of control hooligans might be around.

Room Tip: Any room number from 1 to 5 is OK e.g. 501 or 302 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Douw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We recently used some expiring time-share points (again) for a weeks stay at the Beacon Isle hotel. It is a very well organised and popular time-share resort where regular visitors are greeted like long lost friends and many guests know each other from visiting the resort year after year at the same time.
We could not fault the resort in any way. Everything is excellently maintained and runs like a well oiled machine. It is essentially a hotel converted to a time share resort and although some of the units are larger, ours was a hotel room size. However everything you need is there and with the wonderful views the rooms are lovely. Despite the size we didn't feel claustrophobic at all. There is zero self catering but a small bar fridge enables one to keep a few essentials for nibbles (snacks and drinks) in the unit.
The restaurants, grounds, lounges and other facilities are extremely well run and maintained and I don't think there is anything you could wish for that you wouldn't find there. We are not people who take part in organised activities but these are all available and for singles or people who enjoy this type of activity this would be a real plus. No wonder so many regulars know one another.
The spectacular setting means that if you are looking for a wonderful holiday experience with a wonderful beach right on your doorstep you have hit the jackpot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer100CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights this past February with my wife.
The location is spectacular, right on the beach with the Indian ocean at the front of the hotel. I understand it is common to be able to watch whales right from the hotel property, although none were there during our stay.

There are good restaurants within a short walk. The town centre, which is a bit longer walk or short drive has many unique shopping and dining experiences.

The only drawback is that the rooms lack air conditioning, so they can get pretty hot.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: try to book an ocean side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Property: Beacon Island Resort
Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing