We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brenda love the sunrise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beacon Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brenda love the sunrise”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A hotel on an island.
I loved the red carpet welcome by some staff members.
The Porters were friendly, helping to unload the car and wheeling your luggage up to the room and then helping to carry into the room whilst I went to park my car. I got to know the reception staff and they were helpful with directions to the Local Methodist church.
The room was comfortable and adequate for two people. This was my first stay and if in the area again I would go back.
The sunrise every morning was my highlight. I had a north facing room window with the sun in the east and the beach to my west.
Because I am a peoples person the different shifts and I to know each others names.
The lounge area was nice for a casual meeting place and coffee.
The restaurant staff were pleasant. On the whole everyone were very pleasant including housekeeping

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and east sides are the best for sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaWilliams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    203
    36
    16
    13
See reviews for
325
387
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a remarcable hotel , amazing views, outstanding position with pristine beaches on each side.
Hotel was very good, staff were a touch lazy. They need a proper shake up. Some have been in this hotel for too long. But don't be put off, it does not get much better than this hotel. I traveled the world and this is a true gem. the food is good and well priced. I like to see a real grill house type restaurant tucked in a little spot of heaven in the hotel. The managers need some international exposure to take it to the next level.

My only complaint , fisherman ruin the baby beach on the hotel grounds with their hooks and gut on every rock, the fishermen all are pulling fish out way past the legal limit with no hotel staff concerned, so when scuba diving you see very few fish. Small Fishing boats pull out the last few fish from a tiny reef just off the hotel. Other first world resorts would protect their heritage sites. These chaps could not care one bit. they talk a good story though.

Besides this it's a magnificnet place. Don't miss out on this hotel. It's a must do on your list of things to do. Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Book a room not facing the lagoon. But even these rooms are good with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful resort and a spectacular location - we just spent a wonderful week at the Beacon Island. The rooms have recently been refurbished and are looking great. Special mention must be made of the truly outstanding service we received from all the staff, in particular the wait staff - they must be commended for their exceptional standards. The in-house restaurants offered a wide range of choices at very reasonable prices - we ate at the hotel six nights out of seven! On one occasion we ordered room service, which was quickly delivered and well presented.

The only reason I have not given this hotel a five star rating is because of the architectural design - all rooms/corridors overlook the central reception and restaurant area, which meant we could hear all the noisy coming and goings of the guests until nearly midnight every night (we were on the 3rd floor). This did keep us awake on occasion. Unfortunately our timeshare week coincided with the school holidays so the place was overrun with kids and extremely noisy. I would recommend avoiding this hotel if you are looking for a relaxed, quiet vacation; however, if you have kids in tow, this resort is ideal - plenty of activities and facilities for them to enjoy, including a games arcade!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllizaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
263 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

What an awesome location, jutting out into the sea this is a spectacular spot from which to watch the sea. I was very impressed by the newly renovated room, although it was a little on the small side the view of the ocean from the top floor made it livable. We spent 5 nights here in June 2012 and being out of season I found that most of the other guests were retired which does change the atmosphere of a hotel if you are far from it! My main problem with the resort is that the lounge area with its huge glass windows looking out over the ocean has no atmosphere as it is badly furnished and very unwelcoming. I think in summer the vibe would be very different. We ate in the main restaurant and found the staff very friendly and the food good. Overall the staff are friendly and happy to assist.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Situated on its own island, this hotel is the absolute best location of hotels in South Africa. Modern luxurious finishes with loads of entertainment. The heated pool and gym was very surprising making this a treat definately to be repeated. Wow!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquesdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grabouw
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Week 21 - our first and hopefully not last visit to B.I. As a young family (kids aged 1 and 3) we had an amazing time - just not sure about our neighbours :- ) Between the activities for the kids, indoor pool and beach, the days just went by so quick! I must compliment the resort staff - never a dull face. All were so friendly, playful towards the kids and willing to assist when in need. The resort has a great atmosphere and is very very clean. The seagulls turned out to be much fun. Every morning, to the delight of the kids (and myself), one would parade on the windowsill. Was it the same one that stole hubby's sandwich while enjoying a late morning lunch on the terrace? LOL. All and all, I would recommend to anyone. We came home, rich in memories. Thank you.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pool view. Sunrise mornings, the odd boat going out and the waves breaking on the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel is ideal for a family holiday. We had a great time. Both Robberg and Central Beach were on our door step. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The best rooms face the pool and central beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southbeach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.7 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Island Resort

Property: Beacon Island Resort
Address: Beacon Isle Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Plettenberg Bay, one of the most visited of the picturesque Garden Route towns, the Beacon Island Timeshare Resort is a favourite amongst travellers to this region. Boasting spectacular ocean views, endless leisure activities a host of nearby attractions and beautiful bedrooms this is the perfect resort for you. Drive to Knysna to feed the elephants, shop till you drop or spend your days luxuriating alongside the pool just enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Beacon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Island Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing