We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Old Rectory(Plettenberg Bay)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
$547
$532
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$240
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
$281
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter's Country House(Harkerville)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$101
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$344
$311
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$75
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
63
31
3
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
31
3
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 103 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed in Beach House for 3 nights with my wife and our young son and we loved it. During our trip, we stayed in 8 different hostels and this one was the best. Location, staff, room and swimming pool - all top notch. Really amazing, I doubt you will find a better place in Plett, let alone whole Garden Route.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

During our stay here, we felt extremely welcome and the staff was accommodating and happy to oblige with any questions or info we needed while we were there. They offered their Kayak and boogie board to us... no questions asked. It is Perfectly situated, has friendly staff, amazing rooms, great views and it is honestly the best backpackers I have ever stayed at.

Located right next to main beach and looking out on to the ocean. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole_tdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

my stay was excellent and very welcoming,it is right on the beach for a relaxing holiday as i did not move my vehicle,which means no driving.needs fans or air cons in self catering unit that i stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yusuf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Its nice, relaxing and fun.
Breakfast recomended. Comes with great view.
Lovely and safe walk from town.
Theres a bar and braii facilities.
Try to stay more Days.
Beach is cloose and Lovely.
Take a walk on the old Railway.

Room Tip: we had the double downstares with the sea view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resemagazinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Position is good although right on a busy car park. Accommodation is very white cold and not at all homely, best suited for summer months. The owner extremely aggressive and unfriendly, he's clearly in the wrong business, not at all accommodating, treats his guests like the are in the army, house rules unreasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest
My apologies regarding house rules ,It unfortunately is something that is necessary to prevent damage and disturbance to fellow guests . I do understand that the annual matric rage is for you to have fun ,but unfortunately we could not allow you to party in the room at 3 am in the morning which disturbs the guests right next door to yourselves.No smoking in the rooms is displayed through out the premises.
Trust you will understand the above .
Regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews