We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden pearl”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Beach House Lodge
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have spend 3 nights in this hostel. The view from the double room is really amazing. The beds are very good (also in the dorm). The staff is really friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, just a few steps from the beach. I call this hostel a hidden pearl because it is not often mentioned in travel books (like the coast to coast). The only disadvantage is that there is no wifi, however, there is an internet café nearby. But to be honest, you don't need internet here. The hostel owner arranged my next hostel and my Bazbus (backpackers bus) reservation. Really nice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear valued guest

Thanks so much for your awesome review! We are in the process of sorting out the wifi and do apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please contact us if you are in the area again.

Kind regards
Ninette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Beach House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Well, from the photos on the website to actually spending time at this establishment, it definitely lived up to expectations! What you see is what you get. It has definitely raised the bar for other backpacker resorts in my book. Well done to Leonard Friedman for a fine place!
They cater for all types of travellers, couples, friends doing the backpacker thing even business travellers. Ideally located right on the beach with a boardwalk to the main beach in Plett. Awesome view from the deck above the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Depending on your needs if you are a couple travelling on a tight budget for special occasions the D...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear valued guest

Thank you for the great review! We hope to have you back here with us soon, maybe summer this time?

Kind regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thanks everyone at the Backpackers Beach House Lodge, and especially thank you Charles!!!
We stayed 4 nights (end Oct 2013) and we felt at home since the beginning! Great place for braii, amazing view from the room and from the table-bar, where you can have the delicious breakfast served. All the staff is very professional and friendly, and the quality of the service/accomodation is way above the standards.
At walking distance along the beach you can also find nice restaurants and pubs, making it the perfect location in Plett!

I would recommend this place to everyone, who want a friendly atmosphere, top accomodation and low price!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Everything that the other reviews say about Backpackers Beach House Lodge is true! The location is excellent and the staff are charming and very helpful.

There were just a couple drawbacks. We stayed in the private flat. The kitchen wasn't really stocked as if people were really going to cook there. It lacked dish soap for doing dishes, a frying pan, a coffee maker, etc. The bathroom was also very much like a backpackers in terms of cleanliness and less like the beautiful accommodations that were otherwise in the flat. With those considerations in mind, I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaplessTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The value far exceeds the price. Best bet would be to go for the Room with a View. Also, try to have a braai while you there, the setup is perfect.
Management are very helpful and friendly, and makes you feel that you can ask for any assistance without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonckjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear valued guest

Thank you for your great review and taking the trouble to send it. We appreciate all feedback and especially the complements :-) We hope the rest of your journey was a success and an enjoyable one.

Hopefully see you soon!

Kind regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were a group of teenagers weren't looking for something to expensive on the beach front, close by to everything just one disadvantage is as of June 2013 they didn't have WiFi in the lodge but he said that it will be coming within a month, great service there are three rooms one room has place for 6 people on bunk beds (which has a bath room inside) the other two rooms have a master bed, we had a great time, next time we come to plet we will for sure go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear valued guest
We appreciate you taking the time to send a review and once again apologize for the problem with wifi, we trust that this should be sorted out soon and sure by your next visit all should be working
Kind regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

There is no way you can beat these guys we had an epic stay super friendly staff right on the beach you can have a drink overlooking the a section of the main beach great rooms and very safe if you're looking for a place to stay in plett by my experience this is the best for sure!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thechad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardFF, Owner at Backpackers Beach House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to send your review,it is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you in the very near future.
Kind regards
Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Cottage
Stone Cottage
#35 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bliss on Beacon Isle
Bliss on Beacon Isle
#28 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesth...
#33 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Galini Exclusive Homestay
Galini Exclusive Homestay
#25 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Beach House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Beach House Lodge

Address: 5 Meeding Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $1 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At backpackers beach house lodge we brag a perfect location on the main beach of Plett and only 3 streets away from Plett central. We are a 4 Star Backpackers and lodge (TGSCA)Plettenberg bay is a haven for outdoor and nature based activities, all of which our experienced staff will gladly organise and book for you. We offer a comprehensive information centre at our front reception and can advice on all activities available in and around Plett. When staying with us you will qualify for a discount at selected activities and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Beach House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing