We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing dining experience”

Ghillies Grill at Peroni Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Very upmarket lifestyle centre in the heart of plett with great views
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Confusing dining experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was only half full, but service was SLOW! I say confusing because on one hand, the food was good, but there seemed to be just one water. Even he seemed to be quicker than the kitchen. He seemed to spend an inordinate amount of time hanging around the kitchen waiting for his orders. The waiter took the orders and eventually delivered the food, but attentive would not describe him!

It is one of those places where you should order your drinks in twos, because you may not get another chance...

The owner stood around all night but never approached a table or contributed anything. There was a seriously underworked barman. And there were lots of 'assistant waiters' who seemed to do nothing but set tables. But everything that mattered seemed to handled by just two people: the chef and the waiter.

It was a weird experience!

Despite the food that was good, and fairly priced, I am not sure I would return. There is just no urgency, and the lack of attention left us feeling unwanted and unimportant. After all, there are lots more to try in the same street!

Helpful?
1 Thank GwilymHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghillies_Peroni, Manager at Ghillies Grill at Peroni Cafe, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are 2days away from our crazy season and use those 3days after our very busy rage week to train another 5staff so we understand your point and all our staff and chef have been with us for more than 5years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    85
    32
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Service, Food, Price, Location... SPOT ON”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Amazing venue. Apparently it can get "crowded" in season, we were lucky enough to go on a night that was out of season. Had food, drinks, shooters, desert all at a reasonable price.

The food was great!

The blankets that they provide you with really help keep you warm in the winter breeze that we experienced.

Location wise... you cannot get better than this restaurant.

We will certainly go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, with big portions”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After our tour guide drove around the main streets of Plett, suggesting different restaurants for dinner, we decided on Ghillies, and were not disappointed.

We ordered a Ladies Fillet and Grilled Prawns for two people, and were very satisfied. The steak was amazing and the portion of prawns was double the amount we expected, and the price was very reasonable. Mashed potatoes were okay.

When we first arrived, our tour guide spoke to the manager to arrange for a taxi to bring us back to our B&B, and the staff was very helpful in calling the taxi for us when we asked for the bill.

Great food, friendly service -- recommended!

Visited Sep 2012

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Prawns for Africa”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and decided to visit this establishment last night. Well done old boy! Both of us decided to indulge in the prawns special (ie 1kg for 120 ZAR) the food was to dine for and we shared a another serving afterwards. They have a wide variety as far as the menu is concerned and the staff was very friendly and made us feel at home. Do not leave Plett without paying them a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank M_J_Higgins2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tuna”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

On a recent holiday stop over in Plettenberg Bay a massive "Sky Vodka" advertisement grabbed our eye. From the outside it looked entertaining. Friendly faces greeted us at the door. Both of us were quite impressed with the seared Tuna cooked to perfection. Moist, seared on the outside and juicy pink on the inside. Succulent! Really surprised by the dish. Comfortable atmosphere for the young at heart. Recommended for a no fuss no frill evening out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghillies Grill at Peroni Cafe also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Ghillies Grill at Peroni Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing