We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place nd very friendly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
African Array Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place nd very friendly!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

If you have been missing that home feeling while traveling then thi is the place for you. Great people, good advice, clean rooms and bathrooms, amazing views.we pitched our tent outside which was no problem at all. Wifi worked really well and cable tv in the lounge was nice while sitting next to the open fire.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you for your in-depth review and your high score. Reading such a wonderful report of our service and facilities is a real pleasure.Our team strive to deliver the highest levels of personal service and everyone in the team, including the management, like to engage with our guests at every opportunity. Truly appreciate your review, it is so pleasing to read that we met all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    42
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
64
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived the friendly staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were spectacular, the food was delicious and I enjoyed the luxurious bath tub very much.

The surroundings are gorgeous with all the different species of Fynbos and view over the castle, farmlands and dam. The shuttle service was also very convenient and overall the lodge offers outstanding value for money. African Array lodge is definately our number 1 choice.

Room Tip: The 4 bed room on the second floor with en suite bathroom is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
thank you very much for your nice feedback after your stay in our Hostel. We are delighted to read your positive reply and hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards for South Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Vicky and Mattthew went out of their way to make everything absolutely perfect. Information about the tours in and around Plett, perfect food, a stunning few, everything always clean and overall a warm and friendly feeling when you are at african array. For me it was comming home everyday again. I was planning to stay for a week but i ended up staying there for 2,5 week. And i am planning to come back as soon as possible. Also if you are interested, there is a wonderful volunteer project, what is certainly worth looking into!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daphne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hostel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our Backpackers. We look forward to seeing you soon again on your next trip to South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I make this place a stop whenever we travel the garden route and the warm and welcoming atmosphere has brought us back several times. This is a "special place" with beautiful, picturesque surroundings. The second floor "honeymoon suite" is our favorite - with a private terrace perfect for enjoying both sunsets and sunrises.
Matthew and Vicky always go out of their way to make our stay comfortable and make us feel at home. If you book a night, it's likely that you'll extend your stay (as we have done).

Room Tip: The second floor ensuite room is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandiLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

From the minute you step into African Array you feel at home. Vicky and Matthew don't even have to try to make you feel at home, it comes quite naturally for them. Our room was very spacious with the most beautiful views of Plett from our balcony. We loved the dogs and children and our sons was immediate friends. My son loved it so much that he wants to move to Plett so that he can visit them daily. Thanks Matthew and Vicky we loved and our stay with you guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are very happy that we could make new friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Had such a great stay. Hosts were so friendly, sociable and welcoming. The incredible views surround you when you're lying in bed, eating at the dining table, socialising outside or in the spacious lounge. The home cooked food is delicious and generous. Nice distance away from the hustle and bustle of town. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicedale, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Thank for the great accommodation and venue - they assisted us to accommodate all our students in their lodge - 30 people(boys and girls separately) Beautiful outside settings and views.Great kitchen facilities for self catering and braai area. Matthew and his staff made us feel quite at home with the dogs and free wi-fi access, large screen TV. It was a little challenging for our large bus but for a good driver all went well. Thanks for a successful weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eb1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we were very happy looking after your group and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#8 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#16 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Array Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Array Lodge

Property: African Array Lodge
Address: 30 Ladywood | 30 Ladywood, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This one of a kind hostel and lodge is nestled between an array of Fynbos(Wild flowers)on a cliff with a 270 degree panoramic view overlooking a lake all the way to the warm Indian ocean and the Robberg Peninsula. We believe we have the most fantastic view on the Garden Route and seeing is believing. A true hidden GEM.Relax with a book in the garden on one of the hammock under the trees or surf the net on our free WIFI. The building is a beautiful Villa with high ceilings and large windows so you never miss out on the view where ever you are in the Lodge. All our bedrooms have a fantastic view with lots of natural light at anytime of the day. The atmosphere is homely and we pride our self on giving our guest the VIP treatment at all times. Fancy catering for your self, our kitchen is well equipped and you will need nothing else to prepare any meal. If you feel like having a braai(BBQ) then we will light up the fire and provide you the spices. The beers is always cold and the fires always hot so why not spoil your self and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your African Array Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing