We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot, Cool People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
African Array Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Timmins, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Spot, Cool People”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

African Array lodge is just outside Plettenberg bay on the Ladywood turn off.... Once your there you will find the view amazing... and the lodge is very comfortable... Your hosts are some of the friendliest people you will every meet and go out of there way to accomodate you and make you feel at home...
The outside fireplace is an awesome place to meet other travelers and swap stories....
I highly recommend this place for a night or two on your trip up or down the Garden route.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinto463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit in South Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    43
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
65
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very best hostel i have ever been to (and ive seen quite a lot). Stunning view, nice comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful owners and staff. We enjoyed our stay a lot, with nice evenings on the fireplace and with a great atmosphere. I recommend everybody to go there. We hope to come back very soon :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyGt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we really did have a very nice evening around the fire and we too hope to see you again in the future. We have the deck read for you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Such a beautiful place, roads to get there arent the smoothest, but everything after that is perfect, great hospitality, nice food, amazing view and very cozy.
The people are very nice, u feel ur wakin up at home, going from one room to another and making conversations with everyone, Vicky and Mathew are great.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehab E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, Sia is still speaking about you and your group were some of the most amazing people we have met. And we hope to meet up someday again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Terrible road. Place need renovation. All is great about this place is view on the valley. But that's it. Was shocked to dicover dirty towels and bed sheets. In the middle of the night tried to find somebody to replace all of it with clean stuff. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malinka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge. We would like to offer our apology, untidy rooms is not typical to our establishment and we did try and work diligently on a solution to the problem and changed all the linen at 1:00 in the morning and would like to offer you a free nights accommodation to experience our true hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked this place for one night over the phone, same day as arrival and then ended up staying 3 nights as we loved it so much. We had an amazing double room on the top floor, which had an en-suite. Iv got to mention the step up and in bath, where you can look out onto the whole valley and dam. A definite highlight of the lodge and room. We loved it. The owner Matt recommended we set our alarm and get up for the sunrise one day as apparently our bedroom balcony was the best place to see it. So we did and were not disappointed. The hosts Matt and Vicky were warm and hospitable and gave us lots of advice and handy tips for things to do and see around the area. The best day we had was the peninsula trek, which Matt dubbed as the best day hike in South Africa. I can honestly say after 5 weeks here and lots of day hikes....Matt you were not wrong! :) The house is an amazing property overlooking a dam, lots of wildlife around, and amazong views. The garden hasdecks on different levels, a braai area and lots of seating for sundowners. We loved our three nights here. Thanks to Vicky and Matt (and the entertaining and sweet children) for a great stay, we have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone travelling to Plett. (If you dont have a car, it might be hard to get too and from the town....we had one so it was not a problem)

Room Tip: If your a couple or family of four, ask for the double room upstairs. Great view, your own balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are very passionate about our town and try and be as knowledgeable as possible. We love what we do and would like all our guests to enjoy their stay in Plettenberg Bay and our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We planned to stay for 1 night but liked the place and service so much we extended to 3 nights.
Vicki and Mathew were great hosts, very friendly, down to earth and good fun.
The views from the house are very impressive as its on the hill side looking over the local valley, reservoir and farmlands. We couldn't recommend enough. One thing we would say is that you will need a car as its down a long country dirt track and the shops and restaurants aren't walking distance (5 mins in a car). If you have your own transport then youre sorted here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we really enjoyed your visit and had an awesome time with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with 6 friends of mine and we enjoyed it so so much! This place is perfectly located on the top of a hill, just an 10min drive from the citycenter of Plattenberg Bay and RobbergIsland, with an absolutely breath taking view all over the surrounding area. The lodge is huge, with a great braai place, a fully equiped big kitchen, friendly rooms (we stayed in a 10 bed dorm which was perfect) and the staff is perfectly nice and helpful,
If you are surching for something unique and quiet, this is the place to be.
And if you go: Do the RobbergPeninsula Hike - it's incredible!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagamanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are so happy you enjoyed the views, and after your hike on the Robberg we sat staring at it from the balcony was a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
5.0 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
534 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Array Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Array Lodge

Property: African Array Lodge
Address: 30 Ladywood | 30 Ladywood, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This one of a kind hostel and lodge is nestled between an array of Fynbos(Wild flowers)on a cliff with a 270 degree panoramic view overlooking a lake all the way to the warm Indian ocean and the Robberg Peninsula. We believe we have the most fantastic view on the Garden Route and seeing is believing. A true hidden GEM.Relax with a book in the garden on one of the hammock under the trees or surf the net on our free WIFI. The building is a beautiful Villa with high ceilings and large windows so you never miss out on the view where ever you are in the Lodge. All our bedrooms have a fantastic view with lots of natural light at anytime of the day. The atmosphere is homely and we pride our self on giving our guest the VIP treatment at all times. Fancy catering for your self, our kitchen is well equipped and you will need nothing else to prepare any meal. If you feel like having a braai(BBQ) then we will light up the fire and provide you the spices. The beers is always cold and the fires always hot so why not spoil your self and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your African Array Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing