We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Fish Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fat Fish

The Fat Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A funky, hip but stylish fish restaurant and tapas bar, Fat Fish takes tapas to a new gastronomic high. On Central Beach Plettenberg Bay, with great views of our beautiful bay
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Fish Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Have now eaten here twice since arriving at the end of January. Very novel menu, with good choices. The Calamari is a must for starters, and all the mains hit the spot. Wine choice is good and not to spiteful on price. As other reviewers have said, you really do need to book for both lunch and dinner as the place is always packed. Service is good and the waiters always attentive, we will be back for more.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KnightyatNo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    444
    112
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Global
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fat n Happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Monday night you would think quiet night ... well not tonight.
I think the kitchen got a little backed up as the owner was doing his
impression of "Ben Johnson" it was frantic and he had the decency to
admit it ... but remember I am in SA or ZA and no need to panic on a Monday night.

It was rocking, two full sittings and my guests as always have to order something
different so we can 'taste' part of the menu.

All dishes were excellent... fun place , enjoyed the evening. And as a previous
commentator said with the current exchange rate 250 Rand a head is the best
value I have experienced for some time

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham U.K.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super Food, Great Staff, Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We found this place by chance and asked for a table at short notice. Although advised it was fully booked, they managed to get us a table. The table service was excellent done with a smile and good humour. When the food arrived it was superb nobody in our party of four left a thing.

The next bit was equally good, the bill arrived. We had all had a couple of pre dinner drinks, a fantastic meal, a couple of bottles of wine on the table washed down with a couple of G & T, just over a £100. Stunning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brumscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Cut Above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very nice dining room, indoor and outdoor seating, it was quite a cold evening and we were seated in a draft, the owner apologised and said he was full but if another tables occupants didn't turn up he would move us, they were full. However they turned up so he asked outside diners if they would mind the doors being shut, a very thoughtful gesture.We were served quickly with drinks and menus and the food came in an acceptable time, it was beautifully presented and delicious, we will go back that's definate

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toughcookie8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The patio is nice to eat on as you have a good view of the bay. The service was very good and so was the food - server made a good recommendation for fish of the day - nice.

I was solo and it is always nice when the staff are so friendly and treat you normal, rather than odd!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Fish also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Fat Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing