We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Took a chance, can't wait to go back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Fish

The Fat Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A funky, hip but stylish fish restaurant and tapas bar, Fat Fish takes tapas to a new gastronomic high. On Central Beach Plettenberg Bay, with great views of our beautiful bay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Took a chance, can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

A spur of the moment decision saw us going to the Fat Fish for a quick meal . It was a week night the restaurant was full and we were lucky to get a table. The menu is presented in a newspaper format full of local newsy titbits. For starters we choose from the Tapaz menu and the grilled haloumi with chorizo sausage was excelnt as was my wife's springrolls.. For mains I had the crumbed kingklip and my wife had the mussels in leek sauce.
Booking is essential anyou will no be disappointed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    938
    430
    105
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The chowder was a bowl of wonderful flavours and at 50 rnd was the best value all day. The prawn curry was excellent although a bit pricey. Service was swift but with attention to detail and a watchful eye was kept overall by the manager.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DINING IN PLETT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had Cape Salmon grilled which was very fresh and tasted great. The restaurant was extremely busy and the service was a little slow.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ursula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“acoustics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

this is a nice change of scenery in plett ,great views in the day ,food well prepared ,and above average for plett.the pity is the noise level is unbearable inside the restaurant ,to many tables to many customers,in summer when one can sit outside its fine.so many establishments today dont take into account noise levels what a pity!!recommend lunch ouside as a better option.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
237 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Accoustics poor -service and quality of food variable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been a few times Some times it is good but at other times portions HUGE but quality not good Trying to have a conversation is difficult as acoustics poor We spoke to "powers that Be " re problems but seems like she cared not

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Fish also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Fat Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing