We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights In January 2014, and think it must be the best hotel i've ever stayed in. We were welcomed by the manager on arrival, the staff were friendly, curteous, and helpful, the room was AMAZING and the views from the pool area were just beautiful.

We ate in Seafood both nights, and the standard of the food was excellemt, with two 3 course meals and a bottle of fizz costing about £60. Breakfast was also great, i can thoroughly recommend the smoked haddock, hash brown and poached egg option!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovemarmaris08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

What a wonderful comment! Thank you for the great feedback. I must say that our Smoked Haddock Breakfast is most popular. Please visit us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 581 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

A wonderful four days were spent at this hotel
Accommodation, service and staff a pleasure
They even ensured that my husband could watch his football team on the tv in our room
The restaurant was wonderful with the food and beverage managers on site at all time - never seen that before
They made our visit to plettenberg memorable
Many thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela51-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

So good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Plettenberg. We do try and accommodate our guests special needs, so happy that we could accommodate your husband's request.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing and calm get away by the sea - look no further! This hotel has it all. The views are like nothing I have seen before and the hotel is so charming and beautifully interior decorated in pastel blues and peppermints and so in keeping with a sea side hotel. The staff are so lovely and helpful and the pool area is somewhere you can sit, relax, look at the view and contemplate the beauty of life. Seagulls come and go on the pool edge and the blue sky goes on forever as do the beach and waves. You can walk down to the beach and walk for ages and times slips by as its so relaxing! Breakfast was lovely sitting out on the terrace watching the view and dinner lovely too. Bedrooms light, airy and comfortable!

Room Tip: Seafacing without a doubt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Plettenberg. We really are spoiled with our beautiful views, glad you could experience it with us. We look forward to welcoming you you back.

Kind Regards,

Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A truly wonderful hotel, staff amazing ,food very good, immaculate rooms,views wonderful.I would say this hotel is one of the best we have stayed in it fully deserves its 5 star rating,nothing is to much trouble.

Room Tip: Bay View rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnpollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us at the Plettenberg. Thank you for the great feedback.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A delightful hotel with stunning views and delightful rooms. Huge thanks to Anremie and her team, who could not have been more helpful. The rooms and interior of the hotel are innovative and stylish but not missing out on comfort. The food in the restaurant is excellent. A lovely homely touch are the 2 hotel cats, who are quite happy to be stroked and cuddled.
We stayed in room 55, which has a lovely outside space and great access to the lap pool over looking the bay.

Room Tip: Room 55, outside space and stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! Peter and Oliver are certainly an integral part of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this review a little late. It's now been exactly one year since I stayed at this hotel with my family. We celebrated the new year of 2013 at this hotel.
The stay at this hotel was amazing and the rooms had such wonderful views!
On New Year's Eve we returned to the hotel from dinner and let up floating lanterns into the sky which was a perfect way to embrace the new year with my family of 9.

The next day we even went off skydiving above Plettenberg Bay which was pretty awesome and a fantastic way to start off the new year!

I'd 100% recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit South Africa. it's now been a year and my memories are still 100% fresh!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank leglobetrotter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Wonderful to hear that you have such great memories of Plett and the Plettenberg Hotel. Perhaps you will re-visit in the future....
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at The Plettenberg as part of a tour of the garden route. As it was peak season and we booked quite late, the only room available was a standard double, which was nicely decorated but didn't have a sea view. The hotel amenities are very good, an excellent restaurant (both breakfast and the evening), a good bar, a compact but pleasant pool area and plenty of information on hand to help you plan your visit. The hotel manager was in my mind quite exceptional, greeting the guests each day at breakfast remembering little details of our stay (e.g. what we were planning to do that day etc) - very hands on, and always available. The view from the terrace/main pool out to the sea across the bay is incredible. My only (minor) gripes would be that the towels were a little threadbare and should be upgraded to big fluffy bathsheets, I'd expect more generous branded toiletries e.g. molton brown or similar and the internet access was patchy. Overall very good though.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_girl_8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and also for the constructive criticism. We always strife to better the experience for our guests, so will work hard at finding solutions to your comments. You will be happy to know that we have just upgraded our internet and I must say it has made a very big difference. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
272 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $230 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing