We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant! Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant! Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had an excellent three nights stay at this classy and beautiful hotel.

The decor is superb and the property is well maintained. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. Staff were very attentive and Lisa, the manager, clearly keeps a close eye on things to ensure that your holiday goes smoothly.

We had two evening meals in the hotel restaurant. The food was generally very good although on one evening we did have a minor complaint. The breakfasts were lovely and we especially liked being able to sit outside in the warm sunshine enjoying our first meal of the day.

The swimming pool area is not large but this is more than compensated for by the magnificent ocean views across the infinity pool.

If we ever return to Plettenberg Bay, this will definitely be the place where we'd love to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    78
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
361
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fantastic stay! Stayed for 2 nights on a whirlwind trip. Loved the property and very much enjoyed the "boutiqueish" feel.

Service levels all round top notch! Loved the pool setting which made for great photographs and the views are simply stunning.

Would most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harv and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hadn't planned on stopping here for two nights during our recent stay in SA but sadly our original hotel was overbooked and the nice people at Virgin arranged this as an alternative........we are so pleased that they did!
First impressions were strong - very friendly personal welcome from the ever attentive Lisa Knight and the standards were maintained throughout our stay.
The accommodation was very comfortable (prob the best night's sleep of the holiday) and well appointed.
The food in the restaurant was excellent - we had already received two recommendations for the sea food platter from people we met on safari - do not miss this!
Enjoyed the (reasonably priced) cocktail bar where we were entertained by one of the resident cats who shared our taste for biltong.
We booked a trip (excellent dolphin safari) from the concierge service who were eager to help.
Great location, stunning views and an all round quality experience.
Would we book here again? Certainly - our experience of Lisa and her team has won us over and we wouldn't consider any where else in PB. The next stay will be longer - there is so much to do with great walking available at Storms RM, Robberg and Natures Valley - all stunning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The view is amazing and the lap pool is very good and our suite was large but tired and badly designed. The staff were so helpful and the breakfasts were great. Just something missing. I can't fault the stay but I would not go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiebok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our great regret was that we only stayed for 3 nights. We were with some of our family celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The treatment we received was outstanding, the service was brilliant and the staff helpful in every way possible. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind. We have nothing but praise for this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I am thrilled that you had a wonderful experience during your recent stay at our beautiful hotel to celebrate your Golden wedding anniversary. Thank you for taking time to post this positive review. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a great hotel! The hotel is essentially located in two buildings on either side of the road both with great views. The main building has a pool, lounge and restaurant and houses the standard rooms. The building across the street has a verandah/loung area and houses the superior rooms. Both buildings have infinity pools with one being heated. The restaurant is superb although if you were staying for more than two nights you would want to eat out as it is fine dining and the menu is limited, that said the food was great.

The hotel is a short walk down a fairly steep path to a beach which is clean, safe and with the added bonus of warm water. It also has life savers on duty.

There have been strikes at the hotel due to proposals to close and the rumour is that it is closing at the end of March - hopefully only for a short time.

Room Tip: A superior room is definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Plettenberg.
The Plettenberg is contemplating major restructure at the end of April 2013. This is due to the ever increasing seasonality of Plettenberg Bay as a destination for high end travellers. The hotel will potentially close for the Winter months and re-open sometime in the future under a new format and vision. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you want to stay in Plettenburg at a hotel with two fantastic pools that overlook the ocean this hotel is for you. We were advised to stay at The Grand but knew, it being the last couple of days of our holiday that we would want to lounge in the sunshine. We were not disappointed. One heated pool, one not. Both in gorgeous settings. But this hotel is so much more than just two pools. The customer service is impeccable. We were made to feel very welcome. Having arrived as part of our honeymoon we were welcomed with champagne and a delightful turn down service on the first evening. The restaurant was really impressive, in service and food and I am surprised it isn't better known in the area (we dined at both Emily Moon and Zinzi and Seafood was easily within the same ball park if not better than Zinzi). We had an incredibly enjoyable stay, we would certainly stay again and recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a luxury double and were very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I am pleased that you felt welcome at The Plettenberg, and that you received excellent service during your stay. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the food and service at our restaurant SeaFood at The Plettenberg. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
708 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Property: The Plettenberg Hotel
Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing