We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Plettenberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
redhill surret
2 reviews
“The Plettenberg”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had the most amazing stay the staff food and views were incredible excellcent hotel you would never be disappointed. the restaurant was five star service. Anything you required the hotel accomodated you well done.
R Margrave

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    78
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
361
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week in January whilst unfortunately the hotel was suffering from industrial action on the part of some of the staff. Everything possible was done to minimise the impact on us and it was amazing to see all the senior staff step in and do all the necessary jobs whilst they had various staff out on strike.

The location, service and general atmosphere of the hotel are superb. The restaurant is surprisingly good for one in a hotel and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are really lovely and well laid out and despite staying with four children, it was an extremely relaxing and super stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and the rooms in the newer building are generally bigger than the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A very warm welcome. Althouth we staied only one night in february. We dropped in by coincidence. Breathtaking views. the staff is very helpfull and friendly. Beach and town are within walking distance. It is a place to remember and go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeborg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had 2 nights here which we're brilliant, the room was lovely although no view, superb position near beach and a short walk to Main Street , loved the infinity pool which I had to myself. Would love to go back again Plettenberg is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Plettenberg Bay Hotel and could not fault the service or the accommodation ....breathtaking views......warm and helpful staff all went to make our stay one to remember..... below the Hotel the Look out restaurant is a great Beachside simple restaurant as is Enrico,s around s the bay.....dinner at the Hotel seafood restaurant, Zinzi, and Emily moon were our choices and all came up to expectations...... town is is charming and a delight to spend time in and there masses of restaurants and a selection of shops as well as the Local Market .... Old Nicks Village just outside of town houses arts and crafts which are well worth the drive.

Room Tip: We did not use the fitness or Spa.....they have two pools one which allows one to swim and one which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I spent three nights at The Plettenberg Hotel in January and I can say it was a great experience. It was our first stop of a 2 weeks trip to South Africa. The hotel was facing a difficult situation, with a protest of some of their workers. But the managed the situation the best way possible. We were given an upgrade to a better room, senior management of the hotel was always around to make sure everything was perfect, they organized tours and helped us decide our schedule every day. A have to mention Lisa and Veronique, CEO and Mkt Manager that did all they could to make our time there memorable. Even a picnic basket was arranged!! Thank you all for a great stay at The Plettenberg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Plettenburg. We had a very warm welcome which was extended throughout our stay. Our room had a private terrace, overlooking the most wonderful sea and mountain view.
We had a couple of requests that were immediately dealt with. The breakfasts taken on the terrace overlooking the infinity pool and the sea, were superb and efficiently served.

Johan, the assistant manager was exceptionally helpful with travel advice etc. in fact everyone was cheerful and helpful. We could not fault the hotel and it has left us with wonderful memories to cherish.

Room Tip: It's a must to request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Property: The Plettenberg Hotel
Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing