We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Visited the restaurant whilst staying in the area. Good choices on the menu and the food was presented very attractivley, and it tasted as good as it looked. Impeccable service. It's worth arriving early to enjoy a drink on the terrace with good views over the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 581 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had one night at The Plettenberg on 4th January, after recommendations from friends. It goes without saying that the location and luxuriousness is unsurpassed. The staff very professional in a tricky situation... which saw some industrial action voicing opinion in the street outside. This didn't bother us too much, as it was a 'friendly protest', but the sound of vuzavela's do become monotonous. It was a shame that we were in the 'royal box' room overlooking the industrial strike - which can last for 3 weeks. Apparently I received the room on a free upgrade. Though when asking if I could just take the original room, it was taken. A poisonous chalice upgrade maybe?! I certainly got a lively 7am vuzavela wake-up call outside the room! I have to say the food (Seafood restaurant in the hotel) was fantastic. Well worth a visit, even if just passing. It's just a shame that the staff never respond to emails. This can grate your guests. Check the email is correct on the website please Lisa. To summarise... A super hotel; great location; professional and friendly staff; great restaurant; well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Eat at The Seafood restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the "Plet" in Nov for four nights with my wife, during our three week holiday in S. Africa.

Manager very kindly upgraded us to an Ocean View room. The view from our room was breathtaking and spectacular. Out over the infinity pool to the ocean below with the massive expanse of beach which stretched around in a virtual "horseshoe". All the time the large waves rolling in crashing onto the beach with ever hopeful surfers waiting for that magical wave!!! Just the most fabulous view. The hotel is "perched" on the top of a cliff overlooking the magnificent beach and ocean below.
The room itself is very large with a lovely huge comfortable bed. All the usual "extras" you'd associate with this genuine five star hotel. Complementary drinks in the fridge, comfortable settee, arm chairs, large flat screen TV with multiple channels, balcony (small and no room for a chair etc), large his and her wardrobes (plenty of c/hangers!). The bathroom was truly luxurious. There is simply the largest shower room i think i've ever experienced with a massive shower head about the size of a dinner plate!!. I could have stayed under that shower all day long!!! I actually think four people could stand in the shower turn around and comfortably not touch each other>>>it was that big. Again his and hers wash basin in marble as was pretty much all of the bathroom. Large deep bath as well. My wife tells me the soaps lotions etc etc were expensive and upmarket. Beautiful large fluffy bath towels which were oh soooo soft (a pleasant change to the usual hotel bath towels) To finish it off with matching bath robes and slippers!!
The hotel itself is magnificent with really attentive staff, pleasant always smiling but always professional. Nothing was ever too much trouble and always helpful with suggestions as to shopping restaurants places of interest etc etc.
The restaurant is equally five star. Elegant and beautifully decorated. Breakfast choice was very extensive either cooked or buffet style. Didn't have lunch so cannot comment but believe no different. Dinner menu had an extensive choice. However not five star prices. In fact prices were very reasonable when considering the quality and choice of food. Far far cheaper than at home. EG, drinks in bar couple of large G&Ts , wine, usually three courses and normally large Baileys to finish about £50 all in!!! ( Restaurants etc etc very reasonably prices in S.Africa ) My wife tells me it was the finest steak she's tasted >>>full stop!!! I tried all sorts including springbok and kudoo. Both lovely with a very different taste. Fish menu also exciting and tried various fish which didn't disappoint!!
In conclusion, this is a beautiful genuine five star hotel with simply stunning views of the beach/ocean below( do try to secure a ocean view room!) The restaurant and food is equally five star and is what you would expect of a five star hotel. Staff are helpful friendly and are a credit the hotel. Have absolutely no hesitation in fully recommending the wonderful hotel.

Alan Melhuish

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunningdale99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Spent 2 days at The Plettenberg and found the setting, service and quality of the hotel to be exceptional. Whilst we stayed there was some staff shortage caused by an industrial dispute, but it was great to see all the senior managers including the group CEO getting there shelves rolled up and making sure the guests were not affected in any way.
I would definately return to the Plettenberg and would highly recommned it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No7Kingsclere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife booked two nights at the Plettenberg through Groupon. I had not heard of it before and, being a bit dubious about Groupon deals, was not expecting much. When we arrived, first thing I noticed was that is was part of Relais & Châteaux group. Now I expected it to be really good, but it was not, it was great! Well located on a clifftop overlooking the sea, with a surprisingly eay walk down to the beach, choice of a couple of pools with fantastic views over the Bay, lovely location for breakfast. Our room was a suite - I dont know if this was standard- with a sea view. We didnt get to try the sea food restaurant but it was humming with activity while we there - thats always a good sign. One negative - service at the pool not great.

Room Tip: There is the main hotel and there a couple of annexes. Each annex had lounges and ours had a pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanWCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Beautifully located hotel overlooking the Indian Ocean. Excellent rooms and service. Food very good. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea was spectacular. Walking distance to the beach and town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family Lookout Villa, adjacent to the main hotel. It had 3 bedrooms and its own s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel room with sea view was wonderful as was the welcome at the reception, the service in the restaurant however is disappointingly average. The hotel boutique and cocktails at the bar are worthwile, and we enjoyed watching the seagulls using the hotel pool - they have become a signature feature of the Plettenberg hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gast70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
790 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
271 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $230 - $785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing