We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Fabulous Views - Excellent Management and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plettenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Fabulous Views - Excellent Management and Staff”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Title of this review says it all!
I stayed over for one night on a business trip. After a 16 hour journey from London I was welcolmed by name when I arrived, that's a first at a hotel I have never visited before, and was promptly shown to my room. One of the things that stood out for me was that the staff are obviously encouraged to learn the guests names, as many of them had learned mine even without engaging me. The location and views are wonderful and the room was very large and spotlessly clean. I had a good meal in the Restaurant and a great nights sleep. I am going back for 2 night next week when I visit again from the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for you positive comments regarding your first visit to The Plettenberg Hotel. I appreciate your feedback, and myself and my team are looking forward to welcoming you back next week. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    80
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
85
362
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at The Plettenberg for 2 nights in late September, largely because we could not get these dates at the Beacon Island, where we had stayed previously, and thought that was fantastic. But this hotel surpassed all expectation; the receptionist could not have done more for us on arrival, moving us to a beautiful ground-floor room to suit my wife, who has limited mobility. The room standard was fabulous, and the restaurant breakfasts, sitting on the terrace with a breathtaking view of Plettenberg Bay, could not have been bettered. The assistant manager, Johan, went out of his way to ensure we had a great stay, and could not have been more helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 35 rooms, all of which seem excellent. You might like to go for the Blue Wing tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xerxes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our beautiful hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the amazing views across the bay from our rooms. I will pass your positive comments on to my wonderful team. I look forward to welcoming you back personally to The Plettenberg on your next visit Plettenberg Bay. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a lovelynSunday lunch at the restaurant at the Plettenberg Hotel.We had a table on the patio with a lovely veiw of the Plettenberg Bay.we had the Crispy Fishcakes and Sirloin Steak.The foodvwas excellent,well presented and very tasty.The service was also very good so was the decor and table settings

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at Seafood at The Plettenberg. I will pass your positive comments regarding the food on to our head chef. I appreciate your comments on our service and the beautiful decor in our restaurant. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Based upon the reviews on the 'Tripadvisor' website I booked a 2 night stay in this hotel for my wife and I.
I'm so glad I did!
The views from the hotel were absolutely stunning, I would actually describe the room as a suite, it was that spacious.
The staff were attentive without being overbearing and nothing appeared to be any bother for them.
We ate in the hotel on both nights and the food was great - just the right size of portions.
The security at the hotel was 1st class and the town centre is only a 5 minute walk - albeit uphill but you reap the benefit on the return journey.
If you're ever in Plettenberg Bay I would recommend that you give this place a go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHSCAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal at Seafood at The Plettenberg, and I appreciate your positive comments regarding the service that you received during your stay. The views from our rooms overlooking the Tsitsikamma mountains and Keurbooms Beach are truly amazing. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sometimes you come across a Hotel or other accommodation which is unique. This Hotel has a great location in a delightful area of the a Garden Route. The service was terrific, security not a problem and the rooms that we had were excellent, in a separate building only metres from the main building. There has been a deliberate attempt to make this hotel different and above average. They have succeeded and still seem to provide value. Not as relaxed as our rented units, but great.

Room Tip: Grab a Beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our beautiful hotel. Your positive comments are appreciated. I will pass them on to my team. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthcawl
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The best position overlooking the Bay, Excellent in every category. Sitting in our room watching the dolphins cross the bay in the blue waters. The staff were so helpful and the food of the highest calibre. You could not go wrong choosing this Hotel.

Room Tip: Your Luxury room will overlook the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to piost a review on your recent stay at The Plettenberg. I am delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your room, the dolphins swimming in the bay, and our excellent food. My wonderful team and myself look forward to welcoming you back to The Plettenberg, on your next visit to Plettenberg Bay. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights last week and were very impressed by the standard. Our suite was divine, with great views over the bay. The hotel was very quiet and the restaurant was also nearly empty which was a shame. As a veggie i had a few issues with the food and service and commented as such in the comments card when we left. Johan contacted us straight away and as we had moved to the Marine inHermanus, he arranged a special meal for us. Hotels can sometimes get things wrong and in these instances it is the quality of the recovery that is important. Thank you to Johan for going out of his way to put things right. We will hopefully visit again one day. Finally, I loved to see the two cats, they add a touch of extra warmth to the place.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formosabay, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Plettenberg. I am thrilled that our assistant general manager Johan was able to assist you, and to rectify the matter. My wonderful team and myself look forrward to your next visit to The Plettenberg. Lisa Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
733 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
539 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
16.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Property: The Plettenberg Hotel
Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing