We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe

Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Every time we go to Plett we make sure we visit our favorite breakfast place Le Fournil, although December/January is extremely busy and crazy, we have never been disappointed. We always enjoy the almond croissant, egg and bacon on Italian bread. the atmosphere is always great outside peak season. January was extremely busy far to many very young children running around making it very difficult for the waitrons to move around to serve the tables properly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    103
    41
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude 'service'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We waited in a queue for 30 mins to get into the restaurant and then another 45 mins without anyone coming to take a drinks order. I have a toddler and wanted to get him a drink and the manager told me to "go sit down and wait my turn". A drink request after an hour and fifteen minutes of waiting should not have elicited such a response. For a coffee I was brusquely told to get one from outside. Such rude service. I was absolutely disgusted. The baby chair was grimy and full of old food. Not a good impression. Will never return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No customer care”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our waitress was nowhere to be found half the time. My girlfriend received a greasy pizza and when we complained about it we got no sign of an apology or attempt to rectify the situation, just excuses. First time ever we did not give a tip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin312664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,313 reviews
865 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“20 minutes to get a table, 20 minutes to place the order , 1 hour for a coffee and croissant s”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

not sure i understand the hype. Plett can be busy in summer but then get more staff. people moaned shouted and left. we stayed but the wait was incredible and only for respect to our hosts we did not leave .pastries were delightful, coffee very average

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breakfast! Breakfast! Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This cafe is great. the setting is comfortable and the food is fantastic!We never had lunch there but the menu looked really good. The bakery here is fantastic

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dazzagordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing