We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget conscious owners compromise guests” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stanley Island
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Budget conscious owners compromise guests”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Can't agree with other reviewers here. This was simply hopeless value for money. For a start the rooms have no air-conditioning, ok that's quite a common thing in this area but everyone else offers a ceiling fan and Stanley Island does not so sleep quality in summer is very poor. The rooms are very dimly lit and there is an open toilet in the room, no privacy at all. The room also had an awful stench that emanated from the shower and basin drains and was terrible. Breakfast was very basic and poorly made and service, although polite, was inefficient. Disgraceful for the price paid for the stay. There are no TV,s in the rooms but there is one in the communal area. However the one and only time that I went there to watch something it was out of order. I was told that the dish was faulty due to the rain, by the way this rain had come and gone more than a week before. You have to get on and off the island by boat so you can forget about zipping around the area quickly as you will have to call the ferryman beforehand. You will also be charged extra for any trips after 11pm. A dead giveaway of the budget conscious Stanley Island is the fact that there is no lighting at the jetty on the island and I had to use my cellphone for light to avoid plunging into the river. The pathway to the rooms offers either poor lighting or no lighting at all towards the jetty. This place is no good for the elderly or little kids. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this review, June 4, 2015
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay on Stanley Island. We have improved our lighting on the island and offer complementary torches if guests have trouble at night but have had no further complaints of this nature. The island is a private nature reserve far away from the hustle and bustle of the town, we aim to be a quiet getaway to get away from the troubles of the mainland. The nature of staying on an island is that you have to travel to the mainland by boat or airplane, this requires a ferryman that has to be woken up late at night, thus we ask for a extra fee that goes directly to the ferryman. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a very good experience overall during our 2 night stay. Initially we were disappointed with our room ( bed & breakfast room option) as room was extremely tiny, with open toilet in bedroom, cobwebs and spiders all over. At R1000 a night we felt this was not good value and misleading based on pictures and info on the website. Recommendation- reduce rate on this room, and advertise clearly on website with pictures.
But the friendly staff was able to move us to the much better and bigger superior self catering room for our second night at no extra charge( although room only R80 more per night anyway). This room was a much better premium experience that we would definitely recommend, although the walls are quite thin and you feel close to your neighbours.
Unique location and experience with very friendly and helpful staff. If you like the outdoors and are not scared of spiders :-) then this could be a good alternative to typical guest house accommodation in town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My Husband and I honeymooned for 3 nights at Stanley Island. We had the most wonderful time and the personal service from the owners really made our stay special. Your room feels like your room and you feel like you are really alone on the island. It is a perfect getaway for a family or for a few close friends. This place really deserves 5 out 5!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

we stumbled on this gem purely by accident. And boy were we pleased.
from the initial booking right through until departure we were just simply impressed by the service and hospitality extended by both johan and kerry lee.. the proprietors of Stanley island.
the team at stanley island go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
the island is accessible by ferry only.
so when you park your car that will be the last you see of it until the time of departure.
the island is magnificent (and that is putting it mildly)
it is just awesome.
the island has only three units and we were fortunate in that we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite.
the decor and layout (all done under the hand of kerry ) was fantastic.
the large open space infront of the units put you in a the right frame of mind to really get you into the holiday spirit.
we hads two separate stays on the island one one before christmas and on new years eve
a perfect intimate setting to see in the new year.
our hosts went out of their way to ensure that new year was a celebration to remember.
the island is best described as an intimate getaway, however we had our children and they loved it just as much if not more.
i would definitely recommend this venue. It is five star all the way

Room Tip: preferably request the honeymoon suites if available , but then again all the suites are just as imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maimunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Wow where to start the welcome, springbok toddy the chalet above the clouds the young foal I met on the way to breakfast, the lovely litle bird that flew on my shoulder and tried to share my brekky the hot spring and the friendly bush pig the feast at the resturaunt on the mainland with the 2 Grt Danes and sweet wee tabby kitten who crawled up against my chest, and stole me heart while I ate the best ever dinner yet. the Morning veiw and amazing flight in the motorized glider saw a newborn southern wright whale jst beginging to swim next to its mother a very belated thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had family going to stay in Plett for Christmas in the centre of the town. We searched around not having stayed in Plett before and how lucky we were that Stanley Island offered us accommodation without forcing us to take three weeks at Christmas. We only had one week to spend there. I am glad we couldn't get to the other places as we loved SI ...the space-our own garden and beach, the great self catering accommodation, lovely friendly and helpful staff.. they ferry you over to the mainland (5 mins) whenever you want and the walk on their boardwalk is fun. Plett is crowded in December but our Stanley Island stay was a delight away from the masses... We shouldn't be telling you about it!!... The Littles, Gauteng

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlyLJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Staying on Stanley Island begins with an unusual reception for a B&B: You leave your car at the parking site, James or someone of his team (all being there for several years) welcomes you heartly and gives you a helping hand to get your luggage on the ferry. The ferry takes you about 100m to the self-construced pier and there you are on the relaxing tranquil Stanley Island.

The facilities and the surroundings are perfect and many South Africans choose them for a wedding (take a look at the website http://stanleyisland.com/ and 'what you see is what you get'). The service is very personal and friendly, we were even invited to a braai (SA barbecue) of the owner Johan and his friends. They also helped us splendidly to combine a stay there with our hike on the Otter Trail.

We stayed in one the of three luxury thatched chalets on the island, all neatly and individually decorated and with lots of space, outdoor terrace and even individual braai facilities. We very much enjoyed relaxing on the island and watching nature on the tranquil banks of the Keurbooms river (especially at the waterfront veranda of the main house). Walking around the island or - even better - canoeing around it can be highly recommended. And if you want to get off or on the island you just phone James and your ferry will be there in a few minutes.

We can really recommend Stanley Island Lodge if you are looking for a relaxing and tranquil getaway with luxury accommodation that is closely situated to the vivid town of Plettenberg Bay (Knysna & Storms River also nearby) and the wide variety of tourist activities offered there. And last but not least the pricing is reasonable (for such a tourist hot spot), you get really good value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FBroeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.4 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alkantmooi Self Catering
Alkantmooi Self Catering
#11 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#6 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Island

Property: Stanley Island
Address: Keurbooms River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island in South Africa – the 28 ha Stanley Island is situated in the spectacularly beautiful Plettenberg Bay Keurbooms Lagoon ,the jewel of the Garden Route. The island features a private landing strip, four guest lodges with 12 en-suite four star rooms, an indigenous milkwood forest, private beaches, abundant birdlife over our protected wetlands. The Island is an ideal honeymoon or family vacation destination only 5km from Plettenberg Bay. Spend your days canoeing up the Keurbooms river, fishing, lazing in a hammock or exploring the island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing