We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not great”
Review of Scotty's Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Scotty's Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is casual food cranked up a level. Try the perfectly textured home-made hamburgers, beer battered hake with fries, and wild mushroom risotto. Traditional curries and mouth-watering steaks with classic bearnaise are a must for the carnivores. There is also a fantastic selection of tapas either as a starter or combine a few for your main course. The menu is small but changes every day to ensure the freshest ingredients. Fresh bread is prepared daily.Delvin Reck, the Head Chef, was the winner of the Stalwart of the Kitchen Award for the Sunday Times Food Awards in 2011.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

everything was good and the food tasty, but I was hoping for a bit better food. Maybe I have been spoiled in the past. But no complaints and can be added to a your list

Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMCD, Manager at Scotty's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments on Scotty's. Hope to see you when you visit Plett again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Incredibly disapointing. This place used to be value for money with simple, quality food and all the right small touches. Sadly something has changed, we heard via other locals that the original chef and owner had moved on. The food looked unappetising, portions were small and the quality not up to standard. Sauces that used to accompany certain dishes were missing, the bread brought to the table was stale, plain white and only one slice per person where there used to be a full basket of selected breads. The wine was warm and had been left out in the open on an evening when the temperature was 20 degrees celcius.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leribbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMCD, Manager at Scotty's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments. When next in Plett, come and have another meal at Scotty's. Hopefully, you won't be disappointed next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

You definitely have to dine at Scotty's while in Plett! Our food was exquisite and the ambiance was great. Every order completely blew us away and we couldn't find fault with anything. The prices compare favorably with Johannesburg restaurants. We will definitely return!

Thank MvdW1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMCD, Manager at Scotty's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed you rmeal at Scotty's! Thank you for your comments. Looking forward to seeing you when you're back in Plett.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The rump was recommended. Was disappointing especially the amount of fat. My wife enjoyed the Kudu. Corkage excessive. R60 for a bottle of bubbly! Don't celebrate at this venue. We should've been warned by our waiter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scorp1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMCD, Manager at Scotty's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Simple. 2 meals. Both superb. Great atmosphere. Great food. Good times. Great price. Go.

The Chalmers sirloin had here was the best steak I have ever had, my wife had a super burger too. Recommended to try the steak 'blue' so I did. Was like butter melting in my mouth. Add the chunky fries and pinotage and you have a winner. The service is friendly and unobtrusive. The starters were delicious, and the cheeky idea of halving the desserts mean that there is no excuse for not trying them.

Great place to eat. If we are back in Plett we'll be back in Scotty's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank weliketravelling999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHMCD, Manager at Scotty's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thanks for the great comments, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope you're able to come and have a meal with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotty's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing