We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place close to the sea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abalone Beach House Boutique Backpacker Lodge
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Abalone Beach House combines the relaxed atmosphere of a backpacker with higher standard and style. The rooms are clean and spacious, the upstairs floor with kitchen and lounge is well fournished and cosy, the sun deck is huge and facing west to enjoy both the sunset and braai. The kitchen is well equipped and really clean, in fact the hosts use it, as well. Grant and Elbi live on the first floor and are around whenever you need any information or just like to chat. The beach is literally round the corner and a pool is available, too. The presmises are in a safe area, parking in front of the house is available. As a consequence of the lovely surroundings, though, the house lies outside of Plettenberg Bay meaning that you definitely need a car to get here.
We liked it here a lot and would definitely recommend to stay here when in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was the only one outside the main building with an ensuite bathroom. We liked it, it did no...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Abalone Beach House Boutique Backpacker Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Now i understood how the words "boutique" and "backpacker" came together for the name of this residence. Indeed it is a cross between the two - the chilled out life of a backpacker's lodge along with the taste, style, and charm of a boutique residence. The only drawback are that the walls are thin and you can hear what is happening in the other rooms. Don't let that discourage you though because the value for money is incredible and the house is freshly built! The owner is really nice and has a wealth of knowledge, history and great advice. He recommended us to eat at this old seafood/italian restaurant which turned out to be AMAZING. Highly recommend this place! Great spot!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Beach House is a place where you would want to live. It is so nicely decorated and beautiful and has a warm and friendly atmosphere. We only met Elbie and didn`t get to met her husband Grant. She was very nice and friendly and had a lot of recommendations about what to do in Plett. You should have dinner at Enrico`s, it is woth a visit! You need a car to get to the house, but the beach is only a two minute walk away. We saw dolphins there! The price for the room is unbelievable cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little_Miss_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant N, Owner at Abalone Beach House Boutique Backpacker Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry I didn't get to meet you, maybe next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, the beach is less than 5 minutes away and it is a gorgeous quiet one - great to walk along. The hostel is located in a relatively secluded residential area - which means you need a car to get here. There is though a great restaurant nearby (5 minutes drive).
The place itself is clean but there is little character to the place and the host was not too friendly when we stayed (maybe he was having a bad day).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The lodge is in a wonderful location, just a 3 minute walk to a beautiful beach. The area is very safe and has quite a bit to do.
The lodge itself was very relaxing and clean. It made you feel like staying forever! The rooms were spacious and well decorated. The common areas were well kept and comfortable and the balcony had a view of the ocean.
You will be hard pressed to find such a nice place to stay in the area for the great price that they are giving.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's billed as a boutique backpackers lodge, but it's really a boutique Guest House. And a good one it is. The place only has a few rooms (6? maybe), but the one my wife and I were in on second floor was spotlessly clean and very simple yet tastefully decorated. It had a door leading to a balcony overlooking the mountains and a window overlooking the ocean. Open both up during the day and a wonder breeze comes through the room. Spectacular. The living room and kitchen you share with the owners, but they too are clean and tastefully done. Roof balcony has great view of ocean too.

The beach? Wow, what a beach! And it's a 4 minute walk from the guesthouse. And that is if you walk slow.

About a 10 minute drive away is an Italian joint called Enrico's - one of the best fish/pasta restaurants I ate at in my 25 days in South Africa.

Note this guest house is about 10-15 minute drive from the main area of Plett's Bay. But that is what we liked about it, it was calmer and more secluded than main street. But if you don't have a car, and your doing a taxi everywhere, this place might be too far for you.

Overall, an excellent place. And a GREAT value for the money. (We stayed two nights rather than one like we planned, but could have easily stayed more days)

Web site:

http://www.abalonebeachhouse.co.za/pricing.html

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sampa01425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed on the first floor. Amazing views from the patios overlooking the ocean and hills behind the house. Nice big kitchen, sharing with the owners, but not a problem. Free wifi and can borrow body boards. If the ocean is too cold there is a nice pool close to the house. The local fish restaurant owned by an Italian is very nice and cozy in the evening. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkelbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
357 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moon Shine on Whiskey Creek
9.3 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arch Rock Resort
Arch Rock Resort
#2 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
6 reviews
1.4 mi away
Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant
Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Res...
#25 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alkantmooi Private Nature Reserve
Alkantmooi Private Nature Reserv...
#10 of 70 in Plettenberg Bay
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Beach House Boutique Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Beach House Boutique Backpacker Lodge

Address: 13 Milkwood Glenn | Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $18 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone Beach House is only 50 meters from Keurbooms beach, the best whale and dolphin watching beach on the Garden Route, in a private access controlled estate just ten minutes from the centre of Plettenberg Bay. If you need a break from the usual noisy, overcrowded backpacker scene then this Beach House is the perfect indulgent getaway. Kick back on the sun deck and marvel at the spectacular 360 degree views. With just four 'luxury' rooms at backpacker rates Abalone is a small boutique lodge with an intimate feel where you won't need to blow your budget to enjoy a little comfort. There are loads of things to do in the area as the location offers the option of a quiet relaxing retreat, an action packed adrenalin adventure, a real African safari experience or a combination of all three. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing