We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Redbourne Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently and had a very comfortable stay. Sarah and Sheldon were very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a little tired but this is only a minor issue as everything else about this lodge is super. For a welcoming and hospitable atmosphere, Redbourne is hard to beat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    41
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
80
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Pleasant large room. Breakfast was well cooked and a good selection of cereals etc.
Situation was fine , a short drive down to the bay with good selection of restaurants. Saw a pride of monkeys on the drive down. Fab beaches and we enjoyed the boat trip to see seals and dolphins. Also visited the township which was mind blowing.

Room Tip: We asked for quiet room and were given one at the farthest area from the restaurant which was peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

My Daughter Tash and I stayed and I have stayed in Redbourne Country Lodge in Plett. in May. Sarah and Sheldon were fantastic. it mast be a blessing to have staff like that running your guest house. The. lady in your kitchen who prepared our food is amazing. Thank you We will definitely stay in Redbourne Country Lodge again! Your staff is fantastic. Sarah treated as like royalty she made us feel welcome and needed! Invited us to come again and to please tell our friends about your lodge. Sheldon were a perfect host he played some music to us while we were sitting outside and made the fire for us when we asked them if we could have a braai outside. The lady in your kitchen made as a fantastic meal in the mornings. You must be real proud of these 3 employees. We will definitely stay at your lodge again. We will also promote it to our friends and business associates. Mrs M Fourie. Richard bay. KZN

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maraelizabeth fourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Small hotel with large comfortable rooms. Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast. Located 5 minutes drive from the center of Plettenberg. It was autumn when we were here so it was very quiet. The small pool would be good for children and the barbeque area appeared to be pleasant for summer months. The rooms are a little tired but everything was clean and the price of the room was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OspreySwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel accommodation was good, although some attention to many small items of maintenance would have improved the overall rating. It only provided B&B, with the guests bar only open until 8pm. Breakfast was excellent with freshly cooked options. As it was situated outside the main bay area, going for any meal other than breakfast required a drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed in much better places along the garden route, and felt pretty let down by the property. The only saving grace was Plett, which has so many things to do that we spent very less time at Redbourne. Staff helpful and courteous. Rooms not the best-very stuffy in the heat, very basic bathrooms(and worst of all-made me miss a champions league game due to non-availability of channels in the TV). Wouldn't rate the location very highly either with a very shabby backdrop to the dining area and the room verandah.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subhroneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed one night. Room adequate, leaking water on bathroom floor, and no soundproofing from adjoining room so could hear people coming and going and talking. Breakfast was not good. Having ordered bacon, sausage, egg and tomato, we got bacon and egg although the lovely young waitress quickly remedied that but sausages were different on each plate and I think mine were "off" and the poached egg was just mush. I hope they were just having a bad morning as it was not a good experience which was a shame because the front of house staff were very pleasant. This is same group as the Robberg which is definitely in a different league, but you gets what you pay for, though that does not excuse the bad breakfast experience, and I don't like making my own toast!! There are no views from rooms ours looked on to high bushes just beyond small deck which was not an inviting area to sit out. We were disappointed overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
533 reviews
7.4 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 69 in Plettenberg Bay
340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbourne Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbourne Country Lodge

Property: Redbourne Country Lodge
Address: Piesang Valley Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redbourne Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redbourne Country Lodge, a 4 star, intimate bed and breakfast lodge is situated in the tranquil Piesang Valley overlooking the Plettenberg Bay Country Club golf course. With comfortable upmarket, but affordable accommodation, combined with an extraordinary level of personal service, Redbourne is sure to become any visitors favorite getaway secret. Golf lovers will especially enjoy the easy access to the Plettenberg Bay Country Club golf course and other world class golf courses in the region. Redbourne is a short distance from the village of Plettenberg Bay and its breathtaking beaches. Redbourne Country Lodge has 16 luxury en-suite rooms, including 4 inter-leading family rooms. Each room offers the discerning traveler: DSTV, ceiling fans, mini bar with tea & coffee facilities, hairdryers, a personal safe, laundry service, underfloor heating and a private deck with beautiful valley views. An inviting swimming pool and lush gardens overlook the golf course for your complete relaxation. Internet & Wi-Fi connectivity are available in the main lodge. Transfers can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redbourne Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing