We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views and lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
West University Place, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and lovely room”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were here in the off season and had stayed at a hotel in Knysna the evening before with NO HEAT. We were very thankful to find the Robberg and enjoy the most efficient heating system from our two week trip across So. Africa. If you run cold, this is a great place to stay in the winter.

the staff was helpful.

the room was large. the bathrooms has some poor choices. For example the shower overlooked the toilet...not a good choice for a new hotel. If the bathrooms were redone, I would rate it five stars.

the breakfast buffet was well stocked and the hot breakfast was tastey.

One area to improve- I had a hard time remembering how to drive to town and the lady working the desk was less than friendly about this. A bit more kindness would have been appreciated especially as a map was all that was needed. On the other hand, the guy that also works the front desk was fabulous.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the water are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Ha ha, we really liked your appeal to the whole of Africa on where to find warmth this winter: word's out and I'm sure we'll be fully booked all through the 'off' season from now on.South African winters can be quite unpredictable: one minute you're thinking of swimming and the next you're dripping wet with all the rain. Having a reliable warming and cooling system really helps on days like that. Thanks for mentioning the heating system, our Eco-friendly way of preparing for all kinds of weather. We're so happy that you felt warm and welcome at the Robberg. Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. It means a lot to us that you're willing to help us out by letting us know where we can improve. Your comments on the bathrooms have been noted and if and when we do a revamp we'd take your thoughts into consideration. We've also made a note to keep more maps handy! We totally understand the importance of feeling like you get friendly assistance when you feel like you don't know your way around. We'll be sure to let Victor know that you appreciated his service and help at the front desk. Thanks again for both your recommendations on which rooms to stay in and for your fair feedback. We're so glad that you still found the rooms to be lovely and that the views made all the difference for you. The view really is something to behold and we're so glad that you shared this experience with us. We hope you will return and that the rest of your time in South Africa is warm, that you carry with you warm-hearted memories and that your vacation will be unforgettable. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg beach Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    184
    69
    32
    13
See reviews for
163
445
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was really impressed. I went in with low expectations. Only needed to stay in Plett for 1 night but my word. I must come back.

Staff were awesome. They even started the braai for me.

Rooms are huge, breakfast nice, deck for viewing was amazing.

Will return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalilaleker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Fantastic picture! It looks like the weather was superb during your stay. Thanks for all your appreciation- it's always great when you end up being pleasantly surprised. Hopefully next time, you'll have a bit more time to enjoy all that the Robberg has to offer. You've made us all feel so great with your praises. We're glad you made use of the braai during your stay, it so much a part of the South African experience and with such fine weather, it would have been a shame not to make use of it. We're excited to hear that you'll be back and will have the braai ready before you even have to ask next time. Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us and for taking the time and effort to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Beach Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We will return - comfortable room with good view, friendly staff, secure parking. Nicely decorated - light and bright. Just 2 constructive comments: 1. Breakfast was disorganised - the croissants were cold and hard, the coffee not up to standard, no glasses for juice, no sweetner etc etc...I personally think it was a lack of supervision - but the staff was happy to bring whatever we needed....2. Our bathroom had a shower door with no glass in? The shower and bathroom overall looked as if it needed some renovation....but apart from this it was a great stay and we will return. Make sure you book a sea view room....

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEALLLUVTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for providing a balanced view in your review and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. You review has helped us to see where some of our shortcomings are and where we need to scrub up a bit. We appreciate that you've helped us with making sure we're the best we can be. Your comments have certainly been constructive. Since we received your review we have made the necessary arrangements to have the shower fixed, a result of some wear and tear we've had over the years. We are paying very close attention to our morning breakfasts runs and will do our very best to make sure that the croissants and coffee are always palatable and delicious, as they should be. We're so glad that overall you still had a wonderful time and that you will return. A special thank you for your room tip and for sharing information on the highlights we offer to other travelers. You compliments on our friendly staff, comfortable room and secure parking were really appreciated. We look forward to your return, to see the improvements you have helped us make. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the rest of the Robberg beach Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a great experience my friend and I had at the Robberg Beach Lodge. We were greeted by Victor who gave us a rundown on the lodge and certainly knew his stuff. We were taken to our rooms which were spacious yet cosy as the rooms are so tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are enormous! The little kitchenette tucked away in a cupboard was very innovative and very handy. The recommendations for the restaurants were excellent. The turn down service in the evening added an extra personal touch. We didn't get a chance to enjoy the beach but what a view! We didn't have a sea view but we could hear the sea and what a pleasure that always is. I would highly recommend this establishment and hopefully I will be back before too long.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Oh wow, it sounds like you had a wonderful time. It must have been so nice to spend some quality time with your friend in what we think is one of the most beautiful spots in South Africa (we may be a little biased though). The sound of the sea is sometimes all you need and we're so glad you appreciated it. Thank you for such a lovely review, it really makes us so pleased that you enjoyed all the comforts and facilities of the Robberg. Your compliments to the staff, to Victor and to all of us really make our smiles shine brighter. We can't wait until you return and hopefully next time there will be more time for you to dig your toes in the sand at the majestic Robberg 5 beach. Until then, take care. Our very best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Beach Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We used Trip Advisor to plan and book this, and we were not disappointed. Robberg lodge was everything we expected and more. We had a sea facing room, which was spectacular. The staff were very friendly and assisted us with local restaurant choices etc. highly recommended, and we will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that your experience matched the great experiences you read about while planning your trip. We hope the view back in Johannesburg isn't too dreary but also, that you're anticipating another chance to wake up to the majestic sunrise across Robberg Beach. We cherish your compliments and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the team at The Robberg Beach Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a spacious suite with sea view. The lodge was perfect with bright rooms, fantastic breakfast, and excellent service. We especially liked the 'port/sherry nightcap' provided in the bar as a delightful finish to a busy day spent learning to surf on the beach directly in front of the hotel. We really couldn't fault this lodge, and our teenagers and 9 year old child agree, it was a perfect break.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have best view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54maggil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Wow! It sounds like you had a very exciting holiday in Plett. As a family, we've experienced the wonders of learning to surf those waves. Many have tried, many have succeeded and many continue to make the most of it. We hope that you had heaps of fun. It sounds like it was the perfect family vacation for a family that likes to get outdoors. Thank you for your kind review, your compliments have made us all so happy to be doing what we do. We hope you'll have the chance to visit us again to enjoy a warm sherry after a long day of surfing. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the lodge for 2 days in late April and we could not fault the place. The location, the service and staff, the breakfast, the rooms were all great. We had one of the rooms that overlooked the ocean and the view was stunning. The weather was very good but even in bad weather you could sit in comfort and watch the world go by.
Only down side was that it is pricey for SA but it is worth it, and according to SA friends Plettenburg is an expensive place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We're delighted that you got to visit Plettenberg bay in April, the weather was absolutely spectacular for this time of year. Although the seasons were changing, we totally agree, it is the kind of place you can just relax and as you said, "watch the world go by". Before I drift off from your relaxing reminders, thank you for your review. We trust that every penny was worth it. We hope that you will get the chance to visit us again for more R&R. Until then, we send our very best wishes, from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
877 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing