We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location in Plett” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Robberg Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best location in Plett”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We used Trip Advisor to plan and book this, and we were not disappointed. Robberg lodge was everything we expected and more. We had a sea facing room, which was spectacular. The staff were very friendly and assisted us with local restaurant choices etc. highly recommended, and we will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that your experience matched the great experiences you read about while planning your trip. We hope the view back in Johannesburg isn't too dreary but also, that you're anticipating another chance to wake up to the majestic sunrise across Robberg Beach. We cherish your compliments and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the team at The Robberg Beach Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    168
    60
    28
    13
See reviews for
141
410
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a spacious suite with sea view. The lodge was perfect with bright rooms, fantastic breakfast, and excellent service. We especially liked the 'port/sherry nightcap' provided in the bar as a delightful finish to a busy day spent learning to surf on the beach directly in front of the hotel. We really couldn't fault this lodge, and our teenagers and 9 year old child agree, it was a perfect break.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have best view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54maggil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Wow! It sounds like you had a very exciting holiday in Plett. As a family, we've experienced the wonders of learning to surf those waves. Many have tried, many have succeeded and many continue to make the most of it. We hope that you had heaps of fun. It sounds like it was the perfect family vacation for a family that likes to get outdoors. Thank you for your kind review, your compliments have made us all so happy to be doing what we do. We hope you'll have the chance to visit us again to enjoy a warm sherry after a long day of surfing. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the lodge for 2 days in late April and we could not fault the place. The location, the service and staff, the breakfast, the rooms were all great. We had one of the rooms that overlooked the ocean and the view was stunning. The weather was very good but even in bad weather you could sit in comfort and watch the world go by.
Only down side was that it is pricey for SA but it is worth it, and according to SA friends Plettenburg is an expensive place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We're delighted that you got to visit Plettenberg bay in April, the weather was absolutely spectacular for this time of year. Although the seasons were changing, we totally agree, it is the kind of place you can just relax and as you said, "watch the world go by". Before I drift off from your relaxing reminders, thank you for your review. We trust that every penny was worth it. We hope that you will get the chance to visit us again for more R&R. Until then, we send our very best wishes, from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Robberg during April and were blessed with 3 fantastically sunny, warm days. Our rooms (2 adjoining) were large and extremely comfortable. The restaurant, lounge and roof top bar were all decorated very stylishly, as were our rooms. Thanks to Beth in reception our 3 days were action packed and we ate like kings in the restaurants which she personally recommended.

Thanks to Beth for all her efforts and great advice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobJackie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Your action packed, eating-like-kings holiday sounds amazing- that's just the kind of thing we love! We're so glad we got to be a part of it. And when the weather shines on you, you can't help but feel truly blessed. It's great that you got to feel the final days of summer, there is something very special about that time in Plett. Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Beth is thrilled that you enjoyed all those great parts of Plett that are simply a must-see. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon! Best wishes from the Bailey family and Beth & the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you are looking for a great place to unwind, in a stunning setting... this is the place!! The gorgeous blue flag status, Robberg beach, is only steps away, and is only a short drive to the shops of main street or to the hiking trails of Robberg Nature Reserve. I have seen all of the room types at this property, and all are stunning! You cannot go wrong!
Thank you Beth and Chantell and all the staff for your hospitality. Only wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Travelling with family to Plettenbergy Bay is perfect for exactly what you're talking about: relaxation and exploring the wonders nature has to offer. It sounds like you did lots of walking: between the sights and sounds of Main Street and the hiking trails of the Robberg Nature Reserve. Thank you for mentioning that the perfect place to unwind after all that activity is right here with us. Our family has always loved this place for it's ability to create such beautiful memories. We wish you had stayed longer too! Beth and Chantel are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the rest of the Robberg team are hoping you'll return in no time. Best wishes, the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a awesome location on the beach. A very big thanks to Chantel and her team, they went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and all the little extra touches for making our honeymoon stay enjoyable. The breakfast was amazing! We would would have stayed longer if we could

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenricovL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Local is lekkerste! Spending your honeymoon travelling through the Western Cape with the love of your life sounds incredible to us. We hope your honeymoon was everything you expected and more. Thank you for letting others know of the great service you experienced. Chantel is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and is grateful for the kind compliments. We hope the rest of your journey together is as blessed as it began- thank you for choosing us to begin the process of creating a beautiful life together. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg Beach Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The rooms are beautifully furnished, decor is classy-beachy, perfect for us. We are used to beach vacations down the California coast, the islands & cape of mass, and this felt just like home to us. Breakfast was delicious, the pools are small but lovely, and the honesty bars throughout the property are a great touch. Pay for an upgrade to a beach view - it's well worth it. Location is on the beach but not in town. We walked (20ish min) to town which was perfect for us, but others might prefer to take a cab. We walked through the big hotel Beacon and liked our choice much better, although with kids we might opt for the Beacon because of the activities... But for a romantic retreat, Robberg is the way to go.

Room Tip: Stay in a beach view room, B6 was a great suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Wow! Thanks for the great review. We love that you felt right at home here. I'm sure after reading your review, plenty of people will be curious to know how these two magnificent places fair in rivalry. Your recommendations will go a long way in sharing the best of what we offer, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope you got to revel in the romance yourself while on holiday. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing