We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Robberg and I was blown away by the views the instant I walked in the door! Our room (a view suite) was spectacular, and the deck on the roof was fun for our family to go look out over the Ocean. The breakfast was divine - the croissants were fabulous. The only thing to watch for here is that the newer rooms (ie the view suite) are definitely better (+1 star) than the "Cottage Pie" rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Jeff - Thanks to you and your family for choosing us for your Plett holiday. I'm so glad you were able to get one of the View Suites, and that you enjoyed your stay. Glad, too, that you spent some time on the rooftop terrace: my favourite place to be, around 5pm in summer. I smiled when I read about the croissants... they're my downfall. The smell of them coming out of the oven kills me... Hope the rest of your holiday was wonderful and that we may be lucky enough to see you and the family again soon. Best wishes from all of us at the Robberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    173
    63
    30
    13
See reviews for
146
422
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Beachy head villa is situated at the edge of the Indian Ocean.The view from the luxury suites is magnificent. And the sound of waves coming ashore helps you to relax.
The rooms are big and elegant equipped. The staff are kind, and you feel welcome. They are very helpful with any request, whenever it is booking restaurants,tours.
The breakfast is good and very we'll prepared.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tonny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Tonny - what a great review: thank you! We're all really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt the Robberg Welcome from the team. Hope to see you back here sometime. Til then, all the best from the Baileys and the Robberg Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This lodge is in a perfect setting right across from the beach. I watched the sun rise from our bedroom window - it was just lovely. The rooms are a reasonable size and we had a little patio outside of our room. The communal sitting areas are in keeping with a "beach house" feel. Breakfast was pleantiful and delicious, the staff were helpful and provided great tips on where to go to eat (thanks Beth). It is a short taxi ride into Plettenberg central area so if you want to be near the action this is not the place for you. If you want a peaceful place and a lovely beach then stay here. There are barbques and an honesty bar so it could be easy to cook an evening meal or lunch. We ordered in pizza one night and the staff were great at providing plates and cutlery,

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPWRDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Ah, how good to hear about your sunrise experience. It's a magical moment, and we feel privileged to be able to share it with our guests. Thanks for staying with us, and for taking the time to write a great review. These reviews mean a great deal to us, and you've made the whole team smile this morning. Thank you! Best wishes from all of us at the Robberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently returned from a four week vacation in South Africa and Botswana. It was the vacation of a lifetime! We spent the first two weeks on safaris in both countries, then traveled the last two along the garden route from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. Along the way, we stopped at the Robberg Beach Lodge. The accommodations were spectacular! Everything was very clean, the staff were not only friendly but the host was very informative, giving us great tips on where to eat and what to see. The room was right on the ocean and the view and sound of the ocean was remarkable. The Robberg Reserve juts into the ocean and provides great hiking and more wonderful views. This is a must stay if you are anywhere in the vicinity. on top of all this, the breakfast was excellent too.

Room Tip: choose an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi David - thanks for staying with us at the Robberg, and for a really wonderful review. We appreciate the feedback: it's always great to know when guests have felt the magic of the location and the accommodation. That's what we get up for every day. Great that you got to hike the Robberg peninsula too. If you have any pics of your hike that you'd like to share with us, please post them on our facebook page: we love sharing the experiences. Your holiday sounds fab: two safaris and the Garden Route is hard to beat. Here's to the great memories and hope we can welcome you back to the Robberg some day. Til then, best wishes from the Baileys and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

As we drove out of town was apprehensive of location but within a few minutes we could see the stunning views and then the property which provided outstanding accommodation.From spotting Dolphins at breakfast to whale watching from the stunning roof terrace complete with honesty bar the two night stay was excellent. Great service and some excellent restaurants a short drive or low cost taxi trip away. The rooms were spacious well furnished and afforded a very comfortable stay would return again...

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank abc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review - we're all smiling on this side. It's really great to hear about your wonderful dolphin and whale sightings, and to know that the honesty bar came into its own to enhance the experience. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope we'll see you again soon. Best wishes from all of us at The Robberg Beach Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel with our two young children. We enjoyed our stay very much. The service was very good. The attention to detail even better.

The view is amazing and the location (if you have use of a car, while there) is very good.

I would recommend this to any one and will go again.

Room Tip: Should you require a sea view room, make sure to ask or to book one. Not all rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0urist1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
That's high praise from travellers who come from as beautiful a place as Stellenbosch. Thank you for choosing The Robberg, and for taking the time to write a review. These reviews mean a great deal to us and we appreciate them very much. It's also great to hear that you had a good family experience with us: we travel with our kids frequently, and we've tried to apply all our learning at The Robberg about what works for family holidays. We hope you and your family will be back soon. Thanks and all the best from the Bailey family and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

+ves: Hard working staff made this stay particularly memorable. Examples - we chose a table at breakfast in the garden far from the kitchen, and expected to have to serve ourselves. The staff wouldn't allow it and topped up our coffee etc continuously. The staff prepared packed lunches for us despite being busy, and welcomed us with petals and a bottle of bubbly for our honeymoon. The staff also booked restaurants, activities etc that were all excellent. Chantelle was particularly helpful sending faxes and emails on my behalf. Relaxed, bright, airy, minimalist modern rooms rooms throughout. Lovely breakfast. Stunning location., next to the beach.

-ves: Value wise, we had stayed at guest houses earlier in our trip to South Africa that made this venue seem very good, rather than excellent value. For example, this was the most expensive accommodation we stayed in to date, but the only one where we had to pay for the minibar. Nevertheless, with current exchange rates this is still great value for the British traveler. The wifi never worked in our room but we didn't seek to address this so it is not a complaint. A couple of bathroom fittings were a little tired but everything was spotlessly clean. The room wasnt thoughtfully designed for the female traveler - finding enough light and space to get ready in the evening was a struggle due to poor lighting and a large tv dominating the makeup area. But these are all minor issues. Stay here - for the accommodation we saw in Plet this looked the best and we would happily return.

Room Tip: Room 1 - if you dont mind being on the ground floor you have your own private entrance and can walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieHMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing