We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, USA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place was exactly as we expected it to be, based on their website. We appreciated the friendliness of the staff, the breakfasts, and the complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas (on a first-come-first-serve basis, which was fine as we had no expectation that these things would be provided at all). Twenty steps from one of the best beaches in the world. Comfortable mattresses. Clean rooms. What more can one ask for?

Room Tip: Avoid the room in the main building that is on the same level as the reception area. Although this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    186
    70
    33
    13
See reviews for
167
447
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here recently for 2 nights on our honeymoon. It is in a great location, directly across the road from the entrance to Robberg Beach. The rooms are big and spacious and the views from the top terrace are fab! It is a short drive to the Robberg Nature Reserve which has breathtaking views of Plettenberg Bay. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a recent visit to SA. The Lodge has the perfect beach location, with direct access, however it is quiet a walk from the main street of bars & restaurants (be sure to drive or get a taxi for going out in the evening!)

The communal areas are very well decorated & clean, we were most impressed. Our room was very spacious and extremely clean although we were not lucky enough to get a beach view room. Service from house keeping and breakfast staff was excellant, they could not do enough for you.

We enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend to friends. However, i should point out that as we were totally new to the area and had no local knowledge as we visited from outside SA, maybe we should have been informed when we checked in of how busy Plett is during this time of year and that restaurants and taxis needed booking well in advance. This would have made our first couple of nights a lot easier!

Otherwise, a very nice place with very pleasant staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imafairy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon in the robberg beach lodge. The location was fantastic right opposite the beach. The staff especially Beth were extremely helpful and accomodating. The breakfast was the best we had on our 3 week trip. Only downside and its a small one would be the lack of a lunch or snack service if you wanted to lounge around for the day. We would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culhanesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a beautiful Lodge, excellent service (5 star), location is one of the best in this country. We received outstanding service from a team that exceeded every need we had as a family. The breakfast is outstanding and they catered for my children's needs which included items not on the normal breakfast menu. Nothing was too much for the management to arrange, they arranged our activities for us immediately and we felt as if we were being treated as royalty. The location is right on Robberg beach and again my kids were provided with beach towels, umbrellas and buckets and spades to entertain themselves on the beach. When a request for dinner to be bought in for us, the display of this was outstanding and presentation on the pool deck at Beach Head was an absolutely awesome experience. There would be no other place in Plett that I would stay at besides The Robberg Beach Lodge. Compliments to Chantel and her team for making us feel so comfortable, relaxed and an experience we will never forgot.

Room Tip: Honestly they have 2 pools on site which cater for relaxation and some good quality bonding time wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETraveller1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I was traveling around South Africa with a group of 13 friends from Johannesburg to Cape Town doing the garden route. From all the hotels we stayed while traveling, I can perfectly say that The Robberg Beach Lodge was definitely the most beautiful, luxurious and comfortable one. For me and all my other friends this was definitely the most special hotel we stayed while doing the Garden Route. We all had sea-view rooms with the most magnificent sight. It was like a piece of paradise.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgreficce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

In general terms the location is good, fantastic proximity to the beach & a short ride to town. The manager while eager to assist, has quite an aggressive nature & isn't terribly personable. The service is way bellow average and this makes the whole experience unpalatable at £200pn.
The communal areas feel a bit like a posh halls of residence. They were very beige & lacked texture and interest of a more exclusive hotel & as a result looked a bit cheap. Our bedroom however was very large and bright with a lovely huge bathroom and a larger than average balcony (overlooking car park). Wifi access over the entire building is terrible, a wire is available but iPad users won't be able to connect this way.
I was really upset by my experience here especially as all the other places we have stayed in have been fabulous and all have been considerably cheaper. My advice, don't stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamatpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Oh dear, we really do seem to have missed the boat with your visit. It's hard stuff to read, but we're always trying to get better at what we do, so we do want to know about it when we've not met the mark. We know we can't win 'em all in terms of decor - there are so many lovely styles out there - but we hate to fall down on service. We try really hard to create 5 star memories, and take it very much to heart when we don't get it right. It's good to hear you liked your room - I love the sunny south facing rooms too - and thanks for pointing out the ipad connectivity issue: I'm sure we can sort this out. Best wishes to you for the new year, from all of us at the Robberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
249 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Property: The Robberg Beach Lodge
Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing