We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property but i left with a bad taste in my mouth.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here during peak season so they were full. You could tell the staff were strecthed to thin. Everyone looked stressed which did not help me relax. Check in was that of a motel or 2 star hotel. We arrived, they didnt help with out bags or offer any help. We had one of the 5 suites which have their own parking but staff were takign up some of the spots so i had to park in farther lot. The key fob to let me in to the farther lot didnt work so i had 2 drive back to reception again. Ugh. The room was lovely. The beach entrance was right at the hotel and was unreal! Breakfast was good standard cape fare of eggs, fruit, etc. same thing as all other hotels we stayed at. I could imagine this experience going much better for people so it makes sense the reviews are so high. for us it was a dissapointment. I want to give it 3 out of 5 but based on what i think they normally are and what most would experience ill stick with 4.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKUSTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to let us know about the disappointing experience you had. We hate it when we don't get it right, but would rather know about it than not, so we can fix the problem as quickly as possible. You're right, it has been a brilliantly busy season in Plett and especially at the Robberg because of its location. But this absolutely shouldn't have affected your experience with us. I completely understand your disappointment about porterage, parking and fob. What a bad start. I'm sorry: this isn't what we're about, and we will sort this out immediately. You're right, I think our team was stretched in an even busier peak season than we'd expected. We've all learned from that and are working with the team to put measures in place for this year. Thanks again for letting us know, so that we can fix these issues. Best wishes for the new year from the Baileys and the Robberg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 802 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a Luxury Room in Robberg House. It was a late booking and all the View Rooms were gone. Very spacious room and bathroom. Light stylish decor. Super comfortable bed.
I was pleased that we had not elected for the suite.

Communal areas of the lodge were stylish and well maintained. The staff were friendly and very helpful with dinner and whale watching tour reservations.

We had an issue with the security fob not opening the car park gates when we returned after dinner. However the night staff promptly came to let us in. We received a new working fob the next morning.

Excellent breakfast. It was nice to have the option to make your own toast however the toaster kept tripping the electrical circuit. Hence I think they need to purchase a new toaster.

Location of the hotel is just perfect opposite a stunning safe beach. I would definitely return and you will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

What a lovely review: thank you! We're really glad you chose the Robberg and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy to hear that the Robberg House room didn't disappoint: we love them too. Thanks for the compliments to the staff - it's always good for the team to know that they're doing something right. Sorry to hear about the security fob not working: we'll look into this. And definitely the toaster! Best wishes to you and yours for the new year from The Bailey family and the Robberg team - hope to welcome you back to our special place by the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Recently just spent a few nights in Plett and stayed at the Robberg. Such friendly staff, amazing facilities and its right on the beach!

Have to say, hands down this is the best guest house/hotel i have stayed at! Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Top room with a view of the ocean is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thanks for choosing us, and for the great review! It's always good to hear when we get it right, so a special thanks for the compliments to the staff, who are working really hard during the season to make great memories for our guests. We're really chuffed you had such a good time, and hope to see you back soon. Best wishes for the new year, from the Bailey family and the Robberg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Room 10 was wonderful, spacious, beautifully appointed but did not have a view of the sea! A communal bar/seating area with sea views is just not the same. Excellent breakfast but one or two niggly things - broken bedside light, broken sun umbrella - known about before our visit but not dealt with. We were also locked out at night - twice - because someone had locked the door from the inside and our high-tech key would not work. Once is annoying, twice is just not acceptable. Reception said they would put up a notice but had not done so before we left. With a sea view and everything in working order I would have rated this hotel excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view make sure you ask before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familylott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thanks for your review, and for your balanced feedback. I've had a look at the email we received from you as well, and your feedback is reasonable and appreciated. You're right, Room 10 isn't sold as a View Room: it's sold as a Luxury Room, and the view from the balcony is just a nice extra for guests. We have six rooms with spectacular sea views from the rooms, and the other rooms look out over gardens or private courtyards. We've tried to set out as clearly as possible on our website which rooms have views, but I think we can always be clearer. I'll go and have a look at that and see how we can improve. That aside, the other niggles during your stay are not acceptable, and not what we strive for at The Robberg. I understand your feelings completely. Thank you for raising them with us. They've all been attended to, and we're so sorry for the inconvenience. Best wishes for the holiday season from the Bailey Family and the Robberg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was excellent furnited and equipped with everything that was needed! It felt like home. During our stay the weather wasn't good at all which made it even more important that we felt so comfortable in our room! Thank you Robberg Team!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

We're so glad to hear you had a good stay with us. Thank you for choosing The Robberg, and for your great comments about feeling so at home. That's what we strive for, and we're glad you felt it! Hope the rest of your trip was great and that your return to your own home was just as satisfying. Best regards, The Robberg Team and the Bailey Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a beautiful place! We stayed two nights at The Robberg and enjoyed every second of it. Beautiful interior design with natural materials such as driftwood. Spacious, lovely deocrated room with a little terrace. Amazing views of the sea. Excellent breakfast. Pleasantly laid-back atmosphere. Wonderful service. Definately a favourite place of our South Africa trip. Plettenberg Bay is really worth visiting - would highly recommend to spend a couple of nights at the Robberg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conny_Wagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

What a great review - thanks for choosing us and for taking the trouble to post a review. These mean a great deal to us, and we're delighted you had such a a great stay. Glad too that you enjoyed the magic of Plettenberg Bay - it's been our family retreat for years and we all love it too. Hope the rest of your travels in SA were restful and enriching. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently arrived at Plettenberg Bay planning on staying for two days. Almost instantly and in spite of our tight itinerary, we extended to three days. I can't add to what others have written about the quality and comfort of the lodge and its rooms. What I can say is that Chantel is a fantastic manager - nothing is a problem and she goes way beyond the expected in providing assistance. Without exception, the staff mirror Chantel's pleasant helpfulness. And the breakfast is just about as good as you will get at any lodge. We arrived just before the season turned, so we got exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room with a sea view - it's fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poropat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

What a super review - thank you! Great to hear you stayed an extra night with us: that's what it's all about. We're glad to hear the team made everything as comfortable as possible for you: we aim to please and the whole team is encouraged by your feedback. I agree, the pre-season window is a magical time in Plett; glad you were able to enjoy it with us. Best regards from the Robberg Team and the Bailey Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
596 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
283 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
991 reviews
16.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $116 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing