We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Old Rectory(Plettenberg Bay)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
$547
$532
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$240
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
$281
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter's Country House(Harkerville)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$344
$311
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$54
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$75
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keurbooms River Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
485
221
89
45
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
221
89
45
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscottage piehonesty barbeachy headrobberg beachsea viewopposite the beachgarden routean upgradebeautiful roomwonderful beachnature reservesmall poolhot breakfastexcellent accommodationbeach towelsbeautiful locationindian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 857 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was excellent furnited and equipped with everything that was needed! It felt like home. During our stay the weather wasn't good at all which made it even more important that we felt so comfortable in our room! Thank you Robberg Team!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

We're so glad to hear you had a good stay with us. Thank you for choosing The Robberg, and for your great comments about feeling so at home. That's what we strive for, and we're glad you felt it! Hope the rest of your trip was great and that your return to your own home was just as satisfying. Best regards, The Robberg Team and the Bailey Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a beautiful place! We stayed two nights at The Robberg and enjoyed every second of it. Beautiful interior design with natural materials such as driftwood. Spacious, lovely deocrated room with a little terrace. Amazing views of the sea. Excellent breakfast. Pleasantly laid-back atmosphere. Wonderful service. Definately a favourite place of our South Africa trip. Plettenberg Bay is really worth visiting - would highly recommend to spend a couple of nights at the Robberg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conny_Wagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

What a great review - thanks for choosing us and for taking the trouble to post a review. These mean a great deal to us, and we're delighted you had such a a great stay. Glad too that you enjoyed the magic of Plettenberg Bay - it's been our family retreat for years and we all love it too. Hope the rest of your travels in SA were restful and enriching. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently arrived at Plettenberg Bay planning on staying for two days. Almost instantly and in spite of our tight itinerary, we extended to three days. I can't add to what others have written about the quality and comfort of the lodge and its rooms. What I can say is that Chantel is a fantastic manager - nothing is a problem and she goes way beyond the expected in providing assistance. Without exception, the staff mirror Chantel's pleasant helpfulness. And the breakfast is just about as good as you will get at any lodge. We arrived just before the season turned, so we got exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room with a sea view - it's fantastic!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poropat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

What a super review - thank you! Great to hear you stayed an extra night with us: that's what it's all about. We're glad to hear the team made everything as comfortable as possible for you: we aim to please and the whole team is encouraged by your feedback. I agree, the pre-season window is a magical time in Plett; glad you were able to enjoy it with us. Best regards from the Robberg Team and the Bailey Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

When you arrive at the Robberg you already feel like this is going to be special, it is just in front of the sea. The rooms are very spacious and the decoration is fitting the scene.
The service and welcome was great, although we had to wait a little when we arrived to find some-one at the reception desk.
The breakfast was great; really good cupcakes. We were shown activities to do, I would only suggest to add for the active people the walk in the Robberg reserve as this is great.
Really would like to live here as dolphins, the animals I love, just swim by, how great is that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Ah, for a dolphin lover, I can't think of a better place to be than the Robberg - what a great thing! Thanks for staying with us, and taking the trouble to post a review. We all loved the profile pic, and hope you had some memorable sightings from your room. We feel very privileged to be able to share our place on the beach with all our guests, and reviews like yours remind us of that privilege. Thank you. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Having just completed the Otter Trail, we stayed at the Robberg for 2 nights to relax our weary legs. What a place to recuperate. Stunning location, beautiful lodge, friendly staff (who had some excellent tips on where to dine out), delicious breakfasts at the lodge. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here - pricy, but worth it, and I would certainly return

Room Tip: Between a group of us, we had rented out 3 rooms. They were all spacious, well furnished, and had excellent linen. Not sure there are any mediocre rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

And your review made US feel like Kings - thanks for that, and for choosing us to recover from the Otter Trail. What a great combination holiday - walking one of the most beautiful stretches of coastline around, and then recuperating right on Robberg Beach. Hope to welcome you back some time soon. Best wishes from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews