We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent excellent Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Robberg Beach Lodge
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent a week at this Guest House and every minute of our stay was a treat. I can honestly say that it is one of the best Guest Houses I have stayed at in South Africa.

It could not be better situated almost exactly half way along Roberg beach and right on the beach front. The beds, rooms and facilities were excellent, the breakfasts were scrummy with everything laid on, the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. There was nothing lacking and the attention to detail (pansy shell chocolates on your pillow) made it feel special. There is ample secure private parking etc..

I could not recommend this Guest House enough - it is owned and managed by a family whose lives and loves are devoted to this part of the world they have got it spot on and it looks geared to stay that way. I would make a trip back to South Africa just to stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickeymouse3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

What a fabulous review! The whole team is encouraged and inspired after reading this: it makes a real difference to us. Thank you! We're really chuffed you had such a good experience with us - this is what we get up every day hoping to achieve, and it's great to be able to share our beautiful corner of the world with you. Hope the rest of your travels were good. All the best to you from the Bailey family and the team at the Robberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 802 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

We couldn't have had a better stay. Our room was sensational and it's pefectly located to the beach. They provided us with everything we needed for our baby too which was a great help.

Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thanks to you and your baby for choosing the Robberg :) Being able to create relaxing and rejuvenating holidays for the whole family is very important to us, so it's great to hear from you that you and your little one had such a great stay. Thanks for taking the time to post a review: we really appreciate it. All the best to you from the Bailey family and the Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Robberg Beach Lodge for a few days. The accommodation was incredible, with comfortable beds and soft bedding and the breakfasts were epic.. the best i've had at any hotel/B&B. I still wish i could wake up everyday at home an tuck into those breakfasts!
Staff were super efficient and friendly and always on hand to help or answer any questions.
With the beach literally on your doorstep and 2 pools in the Lodge, there was plenty of splashing around during our stay.
I will definitely be staying here again when in the Plett area. I cannot wait to go back!

Enjoy your stay!
Laura
Johannesburg

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Robberg, and thanks for going to the trouble to post the review. We appreciate it: it makes all the difference to us. Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts so much: that's great news. Hope the rest of your journey was good, and that you've had happy landings back at home. Best regards from The Bailey Family and the Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a fantastic holiday! We got a family room with 2 inter-leading rooms and 2 bathrooms with a nice outdoor area so we were really comfortable. The pool is heated so even though the weather was not so good the kids have some very good time. The hotel is literally one step from the beautiful Robberg 5 beach and this makes for me the best location ever in Plett.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

So happy to hear you had a great stay with us: the team was inspired and motivated by your feedback. Great to have the feedback on the family rooms. You stayed in one of our favourite rooms: we stay there ourselves when we are with the kids, and it's good to know it worked for you too. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, and hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Best regards from the Bailey Family & Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently got married in Plett and to finish off the perfect day and night we got to spend a night in Robberg Beach Lodge - specifically R9.
We got married on the beach at Robberg End and when I awoke had the most spectactular view of the Robberg Mountain and the gorgeous blue sea, with a sky to match.
The staff were incredible and had specially created a romantic getaway for us with scattered rose petals all over.
The room was spacious with a lounge leading onto a verandah overlooking the sea.
All the staff were friendly, efficient and incredibly hospitable.
I would highly recommend this beach lodge whether it is your wedding night or just a getaway - romantic or otherwise.

If you get a chance to stop in? Definitely do......

Thank you very much all at the Robberg Lodge.
R&K Watson (London)

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms available for all. Sea facing or mountain facing. Gorgeous views with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to post it, and a big thank you for choosing The Robberg for your Big Day, and for filling the whole place with Romance over that weekend. A whiff of romance is good for everyone, and the team loved having you and your group staying with us. It was a fantastic weekend. Hope to see you soon for an anniversary (or even before!). All the very best for your journey together. Best regards from the Bailey Family and the Robberg Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was the final hotel on our tour and it did not disappoint. We were welcomed on arrival and the retsaurants booked for us were exactly what we wanted with good service and excellent food.
Although some of the team were away on training the staff made every effort to make our stay a success.
Situated just back from the beach and a little out of town the hotel has all the conveniences. Our wing had just been completed and the room was superb.
Breakfast was a walk to the main wing and the staff produced a well cooked meal to order; including delicious tasty eggs: The buffet display was comprehensive and would meet anyone's requirement.
It is a pity the rooms do not have two case stands as most tourists are couples living out of suitcases and it would be more convenient and tidier.
The lower pool in the old wing is secluded and charming; I just wish they left the cleaning 'octopus' out during the day as it meant that swimming was restricted by its random movements around the pool.

Importantly the owners have a suite on site and are well aware of how things are: we would have no hesitation about recommending or staying here again.

Room Tip: When booking one should try to get a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe90point5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a great experience at the Robberg beach lodge. The view is amasing. The lodge is just next to a wonderful beach, a little outside Plett, but it was perfect for us. The room are really nice and comfortable. Staff is very kind and helpful.
I understood they are 4 different lodges there. Ours was great. Definately to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.6 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
596 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
283 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
991 reviews
16.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $116 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing