We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House on outskirts of Plettenberg Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on a tour of the Garden Route and were delighted to discover the room had air conditioning as the area was experiencing high temperatures and humidity. Our little unit had a very efficiently equipped kitchenette and a bathroom with separate walk in shower. The bed was a king sized which isn't always standard. Anne Marie the owner and her team were very helpful with making reservations for restaurants and golf tee times. Although they don't live on site we didn't find this a problem as they were there in plenty of time to set up the breakfast table, and gave us free use of the upstairs sitting area with unspoilt views of the Indian Ocean. The location is perfect for early morning walks on the beach and as far as walking to restaurants, we took a taxi one evening and walked to one of the best restaurants in Plett on another.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surreylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were welcomed by lovely Kobus and shown around the self catering unit. The location was perfect for us and my elderly mum and we could walk to the most beautiful lagoon (across the street). The views from the first floor were wonderful and we spent some time in the lounge watching the ever changing views of the lagoon. The ladies at breakfast were amazing and the breakfast wonderful and varied. The most amazing Omelette. We were very happy, however the self catering unit does need some attention, it looks tired and was not very well stocked at all. The second room is more suited to children than another adult. BUT, you couldn't find a better location and the rooms upstairs looked absolutely wonderful,

Room Tip: Get a B&B room with a view - worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh_Ann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at 6 different B&B's along the Garden Route. All were fine, but by far the SunShowerss was the best. Must admit it was also the most expensive.
Kovus the acting manager was attentive, smart and well organized, food, good and varied, room large, views of the sea, spectacular.




  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

45 minutes waiting with two expensive telephone calls until we got our key, room very small, very unfriendly receptionist in the morning, while breakfast instead of music the sounds of a horror-movie of her grandchild behind the reception, only after asking for payment receipt, she told us that she billed us the full amount additional to our payed deposit, so check your bills!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ulrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our travel agent booked the accomm and we were unaware it was away from the main town and we couldn't walk to restaurants. The reception area was closed when we arrived at 5pm and I had to phone the manager to check us in, this entailed an unnecessary expensive phone call from my Australian mobile phone. The bedroom was tastefully furnished but the shower alcove was minuscule. The panic button and the alarm at each bedroom door was intimidating rather than reassuring

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Whyalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Plett as a stop off point was Ok but not great overall. The hotel was virtually on the beach, clean with friendly staff and a good b'fast. Downsides - a few km out of town. For someone new to SA the need for security and lots of alarms/locks was a little intimidating/scary (as opposed to reassuring). As a B&B it did the job and I would recommend it for those travelling through Plett.



  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RLS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The main enticements of the "sunshowers" are obviously its location in front of a quiet beach and the hosts 'kindness.
They waited for us although we were very late in the evening and they stayed pleasant and nice to us all along our stay.
Each morning, we had a gigantic breakfast and not only the place is peaceful but you could reach a lot of sites starting from there.
Endly the weirdest things we have to say about it, it's that we were the only customers and that a maid forgot her keys once...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maurice_et_Delphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.4 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 73 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
168 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse

Address: 15 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $85 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshowers Plett is located 75 steps from the beach. We offer 6 spacious bedrooms - all en suite. Two of the rooms has sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sunshowers Beachfront B&B Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing