We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under-Sized”

The Skaf'Tin Pizzeria & Take-Away
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Skaf' Tin is a popular local take-away restuarant with outside seating and liquor licence. We specialise in pizzas,calzones and flame-grilled chicken. Other menu items include ribs grilled in our pizza oven, fish, chips, calamari, burgers and now also MONSTER burgers.For wholesome food why not try one of our 'home-cooked' meals.The Skaf'Tin is situated on the corner of Marine Drive and High street on one of the main roads entering Plettenberg Bay and one street away from Main Street.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under-Sized”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Been going to the Skaftin since it was open and had a burger felt very ripped off as the patty was tiny and not more than 90grams big, which is a slider sized and over cooked.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy P, Owner at The Skaf'Tin Pizzeria & Take-Away, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Mr Food,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is valuable and certainly something we use to gauge our customers' experiences.

As owner of The Skaf'Tin, I can only apologise for your negative experience you had and assure you that I will immediately investigate this.

Allow me to respond by stating that in respect of the size of the patty, i.e. the 90g, generally we make our own patties (Monster burgers = 200g and Normal burgers = 100g), however due to a shortage of the binding agent from the distributor where we normally buy it at, we needed buy-in our last patty stock. This does NOT however justify the 'over-cooked' state of the patty and I will address this with my team immediately.

In order to remedy this, and as a gesture of our goodwill, I would like to offer you a Monster Burger as a replacement, however I do not know who you are and would not mind discussing this with you in person. If you reside in Plettenberg Bay, please feel free to pop into The Skaf'Tin and discuss this with me.

Further, I would like to assure you that we pride ourselves on the quality of our food, as well as the cleanliness and service in our establishment. I trust that this was an isolated incident and again apologise for your experience.

Kind Regards

Dorothy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eco Hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Good hearty filling food for hungry boys .. Well presented ,fresh and really really worth it..service is fast and friendly too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Santesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Pizza!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've had some really horrible take-out experiences during our travels in South Africa- cold food, old ingredients- this is not the case with the Skaf-tin! Good pizza's! Generous ingredients! Fantastic service and the coldest beer in Plettenberg Bay! Definitely one of the nicest take-out spots!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Plett”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Pizza just tastes great, excellent value, great and friendly service!
Two thumbs up for great tasting pizza!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Yummy Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Being local we often eat at The Skaf Tin, EVERYTHING is good and we have never been disappointed. BEST pizza in town, ribs so soft and tasty and their new calzones are also really good, if you are tired of take-out try their meal of the day, good home made food. This is the only place that we get our take-aways and would recommend to anyone without a doubt!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skaf'Tin Pizzeria & Take-Away also viewed

Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing