We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont book this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering
Ranked #64 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked 4 nights in this place, The place is not nice, not views at all, it is near a taxi rank, nothing exciting at all. We stayed one night and had to go back to Cape town due to an emergency, the owner refused to give us the money for the other remaining period. He is not nice at all, not just for that reason he refused to give us money , just in general, I think he need someone to help him run his business or he needs to attend some courses to improve his people skills. The place is just a block of houses not appealing at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thobeka_mganu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good sized clean room & pleasant enough staff. Included breakfast was OK but no more than that. Long walk to the beach, pool was shut when we were there. If you need a room for a night then it ticks the boxes but there must be places with a bit more character in Plet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

By arrival the room didn't had a kingsize-bed as promissed. We took another, smaller room but didn't realised that there was a door in the wall between the room nextdoor. First morning the neighbours start talking (you good hear every word they spoke) and went on and on. We especially had asked by the booking for a quiet room. Next morning same but starting at 6 o''clock.
Because we had told the girl by the desk that we would try it after the bad experience on the 1st night one night more and the noise was the same we decided to leave (booked for 6 nights). We were happy thet we got the money back for the other 4 nights.
Note: the breakfast is really the worst we have had in 6 weeks SA. Undrinkable ''coffee'', a cup with about 20 gramms of can-fruit, no yoghurt, dirty tables (and very unfriendly breakfast-staff).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We booked the O'Hannas Bed & Breakfast over the internet, solely relying on the information provided by O'Hannas. We left the B&B after two nights - planned were 6 nights. (The owner kindly reembursed us almost for the entire prepayment.)

However, the photos in the internet do not live up to reality. O'Hannas is situated in the wrong area of town, close to the bus station, but quite far away from the sea. It does not have any charme. O'Hannas is old fashioned and our room was rather run down. Our room was quite dirty (pillow cases were grey and stained.) The washing machine in our self-catering room was not working. The pool is tiny and not attractive to spend time any time there.

Next time I would rather stay close to the beach, somewhere close to the Robbenberg or Central Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estellllle, Public Relations Manager at O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philipp V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estellllle, Guest Relations Manager at O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank florindago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estellllle, Guest Relations Manager at O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#23 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
168 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
290 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 2 in Keurboomstrand
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering

Address: 5 Rainbow Place Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $52 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohanna is Hawaiian for family. Welcome... to our family! Welcome to O'Hannas bed and breakfast and self catering accommodation, Plettenberg bay, where we pride ourselves on our quality of service and the variety in accommodation we are able to offer the discerning traveler. We cater for all accommodation needs, from the overnighter to those who like to splash out on luxury, as well as the romantic honeymooners who come to enjoy and revel in the splendor and magnificence our beautiful Bay has to offer. O'Hannas offers competitive prices throughout the year making it not only affordable and convenient, but the smartest choice in accommodation. Step inside and let us show you around. Welcome! O'Hannas boasts 9 B&B rooms and 5 Self-Catering units. We are also one of the few accommodation establishments in Plettenberg Bay that accept the Students that visit this seaside resort for the Matric Rage Festival every year to celebrate the end of their schooling. If you are a tour operator or in need of group accommodation call O'Hannas today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your O'Hannas BnB & Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing