We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, friendly service and tasty food”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Price range: $50 - $450
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casual dining,on Central Beach Overlooking the Tsttsikama mountains Relax and enjoy the schools of dolphins whilst enjoying a meal from a vast menu
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, friendly service and tasty food”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My friends and i visit plett about 2-3 time annually and Moby Dick's is always one of our favourite stops. It's great to walk off the beach, a day well spent in the sun, and on to moby's deck to watch the sunset with a cocktail and some fresh Oysters. The service is friendly and quick and the food is great! our favourite is the prawn combo, a definate winner!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rildi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    124
    71
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stormsriver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location...not good prawns”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The restaurant overlooks the beach and ocean and the atmosphere is very relaxed. The food was good, my only problem is the prawns was so overcooked i could have signed the bill with one.

Would i go again? Yes, but i will stay away from the prawns

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Food and excellent location with great views”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

When we visited our Food was good and the restaurant was in an excellent location with great views. I am unsure why there are some bad reviews but our experience was a good one.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborinaBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Nice view, nice people, and LOVELY food! We had mussel chowder soup, 1kg prawns for R135, dessert as well as lovely wine - filled with happiness to the brim. :)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyn_Varkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“avoid like the plague”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

What a beautiful setting ruined by the worst seafood experience imaginable , when asked about the origin of the calamari I was told it was frozen and shipped in from mocambique , talk about bringing coal to Newcastle , why on gods green earth would you bring in frozen calamari to south africas capital of calamari . The hake was watery , boney and unpalatable , the rice was flavorless and stale . But the food experience was nothing compared to the poor attitude of the manager / waitron , upon bringing her attention to the terrible meal , we did not even get " I am sorry , can I make a recommendation or replace the offending item " , her attitude was horrific , the phrase " tourist trap " springs to mind , in a recession to pay R270 for the dreck placed before us felt like highway robbery , I suppose the inmates of Robben Island also had a great view with terrible food .

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jason l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing