We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you're in a crowd”
Review of Off the Hook

Off the Hook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go if you're in a crowd”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were a large table, and the restaurant could not cope with such a high volume. First my food came cold, then I sent it back and I got a new serving back. It was tasty but unfortunate we all ate at different times.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leel0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    80
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good seafood place”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Book in advance, this place is busy. Specialist food is seafood. Deserts also good. Centrally located.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank APath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“laid back great food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

fantastic fresh fish, best calamari I have ever eaten - really great service and relaxed environment

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ox27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Management/ owner's attitude is very bad. He was rude and argumentative with customers, due to his lack of control and management.......can't handle stress!!! The food however was nice.

Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was the bestest, frehsest seafood I had in a very long time. We were served great wine, the mood was so friendly and welcoming, I had a great birthday evening here on a rainy August night. It was special.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off the Hook also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Off the Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing