We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nguni

Nguni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nguni Restaurant Nostalgic with an African flair, Nguni is located in one of Plett's oldest buildings - an original dairy dating back over a hundred years. Nguni's African menu is a reflection of traditional selections like Bobotie, game, biltong, springbok, Karoo lamb, ostrich and other local favourites. With its beautiful sunny veranda or eclectic African interior with its original wood-burning stove, the Nguni Girls provide customers with a unique setting and superb menu. A true taste of the Cape!
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Little Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great little restaurant with warm and welcoming staff and great food too. Although we visited on a rainy evening the restaurant was full. The menu was short but well balenced and the wine list was also good. As we left an umbrella was waiting for us and we were walked to our cab so as to avoid getting wet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pendaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    162
    41
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited Nguni in February 2013. The decor is stunning and we really liked it. The starters were fantastic - really tasty and beautifully presented. I ordered steak medium rare and this caused a bit of a problem. First it was well-done and then it was too rare so in the end I gave up on it, but the rest of our party enjoyed their meals. I would say it has the makings of a good restaurant, but a bit more work needed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Golfgirl287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Cozy African restaurant that makes good food. A little pricey but a good treat when you go. They serve great freshly baked bread on arrival.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaraLeighLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very nice evening at Nguni with excellent service, a nice atmosphere, pleasant surroundings, good wine and excellent lamb. Couldn't fault it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambothan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nguni Rib Eye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is the second visit we made to Nguni - to celebrate a birthday. Only complaint is that I was left holding the phone line when trying to make a booking and merrily forgotten about whilst I heard the chattering in the background. Five minutes later I was able to phone again. Other than that, we had a great experience. Nice intimate setting, the Nguni rib eye was delicious - this time we ordered veg (nice and crispy greens) with it. Oh, yes didn't like the smoke filtering through the front door (where the smokers stood) whilst we were eating. Food and service was very good though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nguni also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Nguni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing