We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nguni

Nguni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nguni Restaurant Nostalgic with an African flair, Nguni is located in one of Plett's oldest buildings - an original dairy dating back over a hundred years. Nguni's African menu is a reflection of traditional selections like Bobotie, game, biltong, springbok, Karoo lamb, ostrich and other local favourites. With its beautiful sunny veranda or eclectic African interior with its original wood-burning stove, the Nguni Girls provide customers with a unique setting and superb menu. A true taste of the Cape!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Service and food of good quality. Puddings disappointing and starters too generous.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    162
    41
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
immenstaad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a cosy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The food was very good.a friendly service and a moderat bill

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank erberto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Springbok!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Nguni was the best meal we had in all of South Africa! Beautiful restaurant with great food and service and such good value for money - particularly in $AU! Had Springbok for the first time, it was perfectly cooked and really enjoyed it! Go here for dinner!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skichickcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but intimate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Welcomed by Robert who was excellent and always there to top up our glasses. Menu very good had the Bobottie spring rolls to start with the most delicious chutney. Mains were the Springbok fillet which was cooked to perfection and the lime,coriander and chilli chicken which was delicious. Nice venue and will be sure to return if next in Pletttenberg.

Helpful?
Thank Belanna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable and value-for-money dinner in a relaxing environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had booked the previous day and were warmly welcomed by Robert at the entrance to the restaurant. He knew immediately who we were (I guess there were not too many reservations for a couple that evening). He offered us some options on where we wanted to be seated (inside the cosy and chic farm-house style restaurant or outside on the lovely veranda). The meals we chose were delicious. The bread baked in small pottery plant pots was unusual and freshly baked. I chose the cob special (which was firm but succulent) and my wife eventually settled on the tai chili chicken (with a distinct flavour of lemon grasss). The Greek salad to share was fresh and predictable. We chose a good red wine (reasonable priced) and ended off with cappaccino. Robert was a most attentive waitron, but never intrusive. Jacqui, the owner and possible chef, visited our table and engaged in conversation for a good five minutes. She told us about new developments at the restaurant including the theatre venue. We left the Nguni saying that we would defintely return next time we visited Plettenberg Bay.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nguni also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Nguni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing