We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christiana Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Christiana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Loved the room, which had two balconies and an outside shower, and the building which is very modern. We could hear the sea from our room and, unlike a previous contributor, had no problem with noise from the garage which was below us. The location means that cabs are needed for getting out to dinner reservations but this was no problem as they were booked for us and were fairly inexpensive. Christa was happy to recommed activities and restaurants. We went for a walk on Robberg Nature Reserve but we could just have strolled on the nearby beach.
My only complaint is that I had left some clothes on the chair in the room and when we returned they had been dumped on my suitcase and the lid had been closed on them creasing some. If I put clothes on a chair it's because I want them there and I don't expect to have them moved just because it makes the room look tidier!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambothan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your outdoor shower and the restaurants and your hike on Robberg. What a pity that you did not mention the clothes issue while you were here - I would have rectified the situation immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    40
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
149
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at Christiana lodge with my wife for 2 nights . It is a really good modern hotel and our room was very nice with 2 balconies and an outside shower.
Christa recommended a couple of restaurants to us ( Zinzi and Nguni) which were both excellent.They are not walking distance so we booked a taxi for both nights.
We did the walk around Robberg Island which has some fantastic views .
The breakfast was good and the staff and Christa really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

That is the question. This was not the number one place in South Africa we stayed at, but almost. No let downs. I think if we hadn't stayed elsewhere it would be one of our favorite places in the world. The decor was sublime, minimalist, and exactly what the sophistication we were looking for in an area like this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights. What a great place! The design and layout of the rooms and general areas are very modern and stylish. The staff were fantastic and friendly, with Christa booking us an experience at Tenikwa to do a cheetah walk. Nothing was too much trouble for them. There is a great beach just a few minutes walk away. The breakfast was also good, with a choice of cold and hot food cooked to order. We would definitely choose to stay here again if we return to Plettenberg. Nearby Robberg Island nature reserve is well worth a visit if you like walking/ hiking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you to all our guests for your wonderful feedback. You have no idea how much it is appreciated. Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights there, the room was very modern and well furnished but many rooms are direct above the car parking and noisy, because of the returning guests. The breakfast is to late at 8.15 and is kept on an small variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were disturbed by guests returning at night. In my experience most of our guests are usually back at the lodge by 22h00 or 22h30, which seems a reasonable time. Occassionally guests have to leave very early, but it is not something we can control. With regards to breakfast: we are always more than willing to serve an early breakfast, should we be requested to do so. And as far as the variety is concerned, it should be mentioned that we serve fresh fruit juices, a fruit platter or fresh fruit salad, the best quality muesli, raw honey and yoghurt we can buy, followed by a cooked breakfast of fried, poached or scrambled eggs or an omelette served with bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes or pancakes with stewed apple, yoghurt and almonds. We also buy a very good quality coffee from Masterton's in Port Elizabeth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I recently spent three nights here in a superior room. The inn itself is very pretty - located in a totally residential neighbourhood a 10 minute walk to a pathway that leads to a beautiful five km beach. It is also adjoining a wetlands area so lots of interesting birdlife. Public areas are very pretty including large lounge area that doubles, in part, as a breakfast room, garden area that includes a pretty swimming pool.

Our room was amazing. It was large, bright and airy. Lots of storage space and a very large and beautiful bathroom which included a large double vanity, walk in shower as well as an outdoor shower. very comfortable bed with good quality linens.

The best part about or room - number 9 - was the outdoor space. we had a patio area with a couple of chairs as well as our own little plunge pool and a grassy area with two chaise lounges! really quite amazing.

Breakfast is included and was excellent. In addition, the owner and her staff are very accommodation - we were leaving early our last day and we were able to get breakfast early before the breakfast room is ordinarily open.

As well, the owner was able to provide us with very useful information regarding places to eat and the hiking in the area (which is wonderful).

Only downside is that it is a little removed from town so hard to go out for dinner without having to get in your car to drive but having said that, nothing is all that far away.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms - we probably had the best one - number 9, with its private plunge pool, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to book this lodge and have the last room, and what an excellent choice it was. As all the previous reviewers have said, the bedrooms and reception rooms are beautifully decorated, the breakfast wonderful and Christa so helpful in suggesting and booking restaurants. It was so good to have an owner who was so hands-on, nothing too much trouble for her and her staff, we felt like part of a family. We were touring South Africa for 7 weeks and this hotel stands out in our memory for the good time we had there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#10 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
2.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christiana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christiana Lodge

Property: Christiana Lodge
Address: 10 Aquarius Close | Solar Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Christiana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christiana Lodge is an architect designed luxury lodge in Plettenberg Bay. The spacious, fully equipped kingsize bedrooms are luxurious yet uncluttered. En-suite bathrooms are equipped with underfloor heating, a bath and shower.Christiana Lodge is 4,5 km from town and a 5 minute walk to the beach.Golf, hiking, canoeing, whale watching, bungi jumping, mountain biking - the owners’ intimate knowledge of the area will ensure that guests have a true Plettenberg Bay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Christiana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing