We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place!”
Review of Christiana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christiana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cool place!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Very tasteful in every way. Gave us what we wanted, peace and quiet, in cool laid back surroundings. Rooms were excellent and staff most kind and helpful.
A place to come back to again and again.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Per M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    47
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
161
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a two night stay at Christiana Lodge. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood tucked away near the Robberg peninsula. It is a drive to the centre of Plettenberg but an easy walk down to the beach. Our room was spacious and clean although there was no balcony; a few of the rooms don't have balconies so inquire before you book. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were friendly. The hotel has a very new, modern feel but hasn't yet acquired much personality. It was a pleasant stay, although not very memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakTree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Christiana Lodge is an architect-designed lodge and our style is luxurious yet uncluttered and understated as can be clearly seen on our website. The bedrooms are spacious and fully equipped with custom made king size beds, crisp white linen, soft furnishings that reflect the best in South African design, internet access and flat screen televisions. Only one of our rooms does not have a balcony. This room is our only room suitable for a family traveling with small children and we will in future emphasize that it does not have a balcony when a reservation is made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My three night stay at Christiana Lodge was truly amazing, such friendly efficient service and the breakfasts were delicious! Such comfortable, clean and spacious rooms, an amazing experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaMonkeyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you, SeaMonkey, for taking the time to write a review. Much appreciated. Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very modern hotel located at the far end of Roberg Beach. Quiet location 10 minute drive into the main town and a short walk (5 min) to the beach. Staff very helpful with booking restaurants/taxi’s and suggesting places to visit. Rooms large modern and well furnished with large bathroom/shower (double sinks always a plus). Secure parking. Excellent breakfast – specially recommend the apple pancackes.
Local (ish) restaurant – Scotties – worth a visit but need to book. Plenty of places to eat/drink in the main town – Lookout Deck – good spot for lunch overlooking the beach and river – recommend the ‘pint of prawns’. Visit the crags – The Elephant and Monkey Sanctuaries and the highlight of our trip to RSA – walking with the cheetahs
The hotel is located between the beach and the ‘wetlands’ so mosquito’s are a potential problem and found it odd that a new/modern hotel had no air conditioning although the rooms are light and airy and have large areas of fold back windows.
A very relaxing 2 day stay including a nice long walk along the beach and a few hours around their pool

Room Tip: Some rooms have balcony areas but there are no sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Howard-Moon,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Thank you also, for all the valuable tips regarding restaurants and things to do in Plettenberg Bay.
We've had long debates about whether we should install air-conditioning or not. We've always wanted to be as eco-friendly as possible, especially as we live in such a beautiful environment. Should the demand be there, we will look into installing air-conditioning in some of the rooms.
Kind regards
Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived very grumpy after a long and confusing drive and that maybe affected how we perceived the less than effusive welcome we received, but we eventually chilled out and slumped onto a quite comfortable bed. Our room was modern with clean lines and the biggest armchair I've ever seen. The outside/inside shower is a fun! There's no air conditioning, with only a stand alone fan for cooling, so we slept, actually very well, with the windows open and the shutters ajar.
We also had a huge balcony to relax on, as well as loungers by the pool.
Breakfast was lovely with all that we'd come to expect in South Africa and Christiana was friendly and attentive.
The beach is within walking distance and glorious, but for anything else you'll be needing to drive - not, quite frankly, that there's much to do in Plett other than eat, drink and buy souvenirs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christianalodge, Owner at Christiana Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
We are delighted to hear that Terence had a relaxing stay after their long drive. Christiana Lodge was designed to be as eco-friendly as possible and we therefore decided not to install air-conditioning. As you experienced, there is always a breeze from the sea at night. This summer has been exceptionally hot and should the need arise, we will consider installing air-conditioning in some of the rooms.
Plettenberg Bay has a wide range of activities to offer, from hiking in the Robberg Peninsula to walking on Robberg Beach, swimming, golfing, mountain biking, Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, walking with cheetahs or with elephants, horse safaris, ocean safaris, visiting the Tsitsikamma National Park, Treetop Canopy Tours, canoeing, skydiving etc. We have an intimate knowledge of all the activies, which we share with our guests to make sure they have an unforgettable Plett experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at Christiana Lodge in January and had the most amazing stay. From the moment we arrived Krista welcomed us and made us feel completely relaxed. The rooms are beautifully designed- simple but with great eye for detail and quality all the way through. Great breakfast selection- fresh juice and fruit with a wide selection of both hot and cold e.g. homemade granola or dfreshly cooked pancakes.
We couldn't have been looked after better by everyone at Christiana and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else going back! Olivia & Christian

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Large, purpose built guest house near Roberg beach in Plettenberg. 11 rooms, so more of a small hotel really. Very clean and efficiently run establishment, with helpful hands-on owner.  

Our room - a deluxe - was quite well sized, with a good bathroom "complex" of twin sinks, bath, walk in shower and outside shower.  Decoration was minimalist in the bedroom, but the stunning views of Roberg peninsula from picture windows or the balcony on one side and the nearby wetland from another large window and huge sun deck on the other made up for that.

The bedroom was comfortably furnished with a good bed. Only real room grumbles were the lack of aircon or ceiling fan, bath robes, slippers, free sherry and some 'nice to have' toiletries and the slightly spartan feel to the decoration of the rooms. Good biscuits though! Not much to complain about really.

Breakfast is served in a glass fronted lounge overlooking the small pool area and garden.  Good choice of nice food and cooked breakfast options, including pancakes.

One of the more expensive stops we had in SA this trip, but that's Plett in high season I guess!

We liked Christiana Lodge and would happily recommend it (and indeed have done so already).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
709 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
547 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
529 reviews
2.6 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
757 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christiana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christiana Lodge

Property: Christiana Lodge
Address: 10 Aquarius Close | Solar Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Christiana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christiana Lodge is an architect designed luxury lodge in Plettenberg Bay. The spacious, fully equipped kingsize bedrooms are luxurious yet uncluttered. En-suite bathrooms are equipped with underfloor heating, a bath and shower.Christiana Lodge is 4,5 km from town and a 5 minute walk to the beach.Golf, hiking, canoeing, whale watching, bungi jumping, mountain biking - the owners’ intimate knowledge of the area will ensure that guests have a true Plettenberg Bay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Christiana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing