We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joke for a hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plett River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plett River Lodge
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Joke for a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I would advise anyone to stay well away from this place... It is advertised as a hotel.... This is a joke.... It is far from a hotel. All open plan... Definately would not go back. Would not be impressed with shower... Disgusting mat placed at same. Old tv sets... door to room not very secure. Breakfast in the morning just about sums it all up. You go up to the main area and Maria will belt something off the table so that a cloud of dust rises. This place could do with a good clean. Its in the middle of no where which would be fine if it was a hotel... Total misleading... It is a basic bed and breakfast and nothing more. My advice.... Stay well away....

Room Tip: Stay well away. It is not a hotel... Its a basic bed and breakfast and poor at that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
40
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Plett river lodge is really undeserved of 4 stars. We arrived at the lodge and were put in a family room whereas we were only 2 people. The tv had 1 "working" channel (SABC 3) and we were told nonchalantly that the tv does not have a remote control. The room was large and cold with 2 small wall panel heaters to provide heat. The bed was very uncomfortable with ancient linen and worn through duvets and pillows. The shower door was faulty. There was no way to comunicate with the staff on the property and the only number for the lodge on the website is for a booking office in cape town and a wrong number.

The lodge is situated next to a highway so the noise of the traffic is very audible and little sleep was had. Besides freezing in a room which could not withstand the howling storm outside.

The manager, Julia, was called by the staff to handle our complaints the next morning and she barely cared to ask why we were leaving after only staying 1 night. She then only refunded me for 1 nights accommodation for 1 person. (I paid a 50% deposit for 2 people for 4 nights).

All in all, a terrible experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilanaoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri L, Marketing at Plett River Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback however negative it is, we value it as it assists us in ensuring that our future guests do not experience similar negative experiences. In fact Plett River Lodge is very proud of our current minimal level of complaints,as well as our high level of regular returning guests although our ultimate is always to achieve zero complaints.

We have used this feedback as an opportunity to re-iterate to our staff, the importance of attention to detail in our business and ensure that items like remote controls are placed in all rooms.

In terms of the linen, we can assure you that our linen is good quality and is regularly assessed and replaced to ensure the product is in line with our standards.

Rooms are allocated according to our occupancy levels, and as all our double rooms were allocated, this guest was allocated one of our spacious family rooms.

Thanks again for the feedback, we can assure all our Plett River Lodge guests of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights here on our honeymoon. From the road this lodge doesnt look too promising, but man, wait till you get inside! We were in room nr 4, lovely spacious room with a huge bed, huge open shower and bath and a great view on the river. We had direct access to the terrace which was a huge bonus for sundowners and early morning coffees.
The staff was really friendly and helpful. Its an open-for-all-guests kitchen for coffees and drinks, with a self service fridge, operating on a honestly policy, which is great. The breakfast area is lovely decorated and the breakfasts were served very nicely. We would definately go back!

Room Tip: The bottom rooms 4-7 are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatricedekock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Great room, very big and comfortable with big terrace and amazing view for the river.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakieskropki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Fabulous location on the banks of the Bitou river. Large tastefully decorated rooms. Good breakfast. The lodge has 10 rooms but not all have the privacy one would expect due to the large windows. Some are better than others. During rush hour (7-8AM) there is some noise from a nearby road, but nothing disturbing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarOhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Wonderful setting and decor. Rooms are very large, light and airy. The beds are very confortable. They serve a continental breakfast in an amazing setting overlook the water,

Room Tip: ground floor overlooking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

No expense spared on the furnishings, but some rooms were musty and the building in general is in need of maintenance. Rooms were also impractical: Glass entrance doors, open plan bathrooms where the basins were too high for kids and in our instance you could observe someone sitting on the loo from the front door! Passers by were also able to see directly into the shower cubicle, (which had no door). No tea or coffee or fridge in the rooms. However, rooms plus linen were clean and neat and the beds comfortable. Staff helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miketh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plett River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plett River Lodge

Property: Plett River Lodge
Address: N2 | 5 km outside Plettenberg Bay before the Bitou River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plett River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Plett River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing