We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attraction”

Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.87*
and up
2-Hour Horse Safari at the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Game drives and horse back safaris , game viewing excellent , all in Big 5 territory,all for only R490.00 per person
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Quite big reserve for the area. Lots of animals. All the big 5 less elephants.
We got to see all the animals very well except for lions who were looking for shade in the bush... but hey I could not blame them or the reserve for this. Knowledgeable and friendly park ranger. For purists, please note that lions, cheetas and wild dogs are kept in separate enclosures to protect the buffalos and other animals I believe. Definitely worth the 40 min trip from Knysna and entrance fee. We recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PierreHParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    81
    29
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Huge mistake and waste of an afternoon”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have to be honest and admit I made a mistake by not reviewing this on TA before visiting. We were staying nearby, and were attracted by the great leaflet with male lion photo on front cover; and I had checked the website and thought it might be a good attraction.

There is no doubt that the site itself is vast, and interesting. However, having been on safari with free-roaming game, this was far from that.

I should have picked up the clues in advance. When our guest house lady learnt where we were going that day, she remained silent. That was a loud alarm bell. Then when we arrived at about 4 pm (having pre-arranged the drive), the fact that there was only one more car in the car park at that time should have sent us packing, but we had planned for it, and driven through various fields, with various herds of animals we hadn't seen before.

The tour itself would be perfectly acceptable I think, if you had never done anything like this before. But we were hugely disappointed at the electrically-caged, castrated lion with his sole companion lioness. In fairness, this comes down to South African legal requirements of not allowing the lions to roam, however, we all felt the same whilst going round the pens and down the tracks. Disappointment.

There were a number of animals that were albino that the guide explained was down to inbreeding. This was not reassuring or appealing, and gave us the feeling of a poor quality environment and what was to come on the rest of the visit. One sole oryx, one sole wilderbeest, and a solitary hippo.

I wish we'd gone to the Eden Bird centre, which had come highly-recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value mini safari!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Well located close to Plett and set in a huge reserve. We saw hordes of animals including many unusual variations in terms of colour and breeds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank keithbull007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked in for two days. So here are our impressions.

The lodge is nicely placed and the rooms quite big and comfortable. The service overall was good. We foudn it quite strange that the recption was somehow unexpected. We had to look for somebody and found finally one employee how showed us around and found her later as part of the service teram. There was nobody from what I would say management of that location. No welcome - no 'is everything OK'.

The food was OK but nothing special. For the price and location we had expect something else then Lasagna. Why is it not possible to offer on a Game Lodge some game meat? They have quite a big population of such sources, as we heard from our Safari guide ('we have to manage population and sell the meat'). That is very disappoiting.

The Safari. We had both a horse and jeep safari. Doing it by horse was a great experience, but the horses are in bad condition, act more like circus horses (the walk behind each other ignoring everything you learned in that matter), and some of them bite so there is sometimes hassle between the horses which impacts the fun factor.

The reserve. Clearly spoken - that is a wide-range zoo. Quite too small for a sustainable eco-system which leads to over population on some species as well many gene defects which some visitors admire ('see the white impala - yeah, beautiful and how extraordinary my dear'). The gudie told us, that all Cheetah's died, except one animal. The lions have there one fenced part in the reserve and feed by truck-hanging calves each third day. Far away from a game reserve and really more like a zoo. Yes, they remain wild animals and know know to hunt. And yes, there might be legal limitations to feed them with live food. And yes again - if you want to be sure to see a lion you are at the right place. Buth you might get better views in the zoo in your home country to spreak clearly. The wild dogs, which were new at the reserve, had all some injuries on their bodies (guide 'due to the transport').

Overall: Yes, I enjoyed it for the time beeing there as it was relaxing. No, it is not a game reserve but a huge open range zoo. Make up you minds and consider other Safari opportunities as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice safari but horses in a poor condition!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were on a horseback safari today, the overall experience was nice, you can get much closer to the animals then in a car.
However the condition of horses is poor - they have cracked hoofs, no horseshoes, many ticks and all of them had wounds underneath the saddles! Totally unacceptable! We noticed the wounds only when the trip was over and the guide took the saddles off.
The owners should take better care of those wonderful horses!
5 ponits for the safari but -10 for the horses health condition!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ojo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve also viewed

 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing