We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a good choice”

The Med Seafood Bistro
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“always a good choice”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Med has proved itself over the years.
If you want good seafood, this is the place to go.
They have been consistent over the years and we have always been looked after at this restaurant - even though you don't have a view!
it is in the main road and within walking distance of many places in central town

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarienvDeventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for doing a review - your ongoing support is very much appreciated ! marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    75
    24
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were the only people in the restaurant but received excellent service from the waiter. He made suggestions, gave good advice when asked and all in all made our visit a great experience. We could not fault the food and left there feeling it was money well spent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer100CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your appreciative review - we hope that you will find us in our gorgeous new premises when you next visit Plett !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uplands Plettenberg Bay
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant is our favourite in Plett. My husband takes me there for my birthday/anniversary and it is always the best. David is a fantastic chef and Marion a delightful host, the staff are courteous and always make you feel special by remembering you. Their crepes suzettes are to die for, well done David and Marion keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellamanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ate here late in the season and had a fantastic time, you can tell why it is Plett's longest running establishment. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, as Cleo says 'sharing is caring'. We had the restaurant almost to ourselves and the food was excellent. We started off with oysters from Mossel Bay and I had some fantastic sole and calamari and the other half had Kudu steak that was cooked to perfection. Bread board with seasoned butter was a nice touch. If we are in the bay again we will be frequenting here! Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamPlant685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for doing a review - your ongoing support is very much appreciated. We hope you'll be visiting us in our new venue across the road on your next visit to Plett ! Marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best in Plett by far!!!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the best place to eat in Plett by far!!! Awesome food, fantastic service 11 out of 10. Beautiful decor. Great music. I must take my hat off to the chef. Outstanding

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trip advisor Liesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you - we really appreciate your comments - because we've been around for so long (27 years) our regulars assume that we do not need to be reviewed - hope to see you again in our delightful new premises just across the street from where we used to be !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Med Seafood Bistro also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Med Seafood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing