We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Med Seafood Bistro

The Med Seafood Bistro
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Uplands Plettenberg Bay
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant is our favourite in Plett. My husband takes me there for my birthday/anniversary and it is always the best. David is a fantastic chef and Marion a delightful host, the staff are courteous and always make you feel special by remembering you. Their crepes suzettes are to die for, well done David and Marion keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellamanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    72
    23
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ate here late in the season and had a fantastic time, you can tell why it is Plett's longest running establishment. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, as Cleo says 'sharing is caring'. We had the restaurant almost to ourselves and the food was excellent. We started off with oysters from Mossel Bay and I had some fantastic sole and calamari and the other half had Kudu steak that was cooked to perfection. Bread board with seasoned butter was a nice touch. If we are in the bay again we will be frequenting here! Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamPlant685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for doing a review - your ongoing support is very much appreciated. We hope you'll be visiting us in our new venue across the road on your next visit to Plett ! Marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best in Plett by far!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the best place to eat in Plett by far!!! Awesome food, fantastic service 11 out of 10. Beautiful decor. Great music. I must take my hat off to the chef. Outstanding

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trip advisor Liesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you - we really appreciate your comments - because we've been around for so long (27 years) our regulars assume that we do not need to be reviewed - hope to see you again in our delightful new premises just across the street from where we used to be !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, Nelson
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

There isn't really much I can add to the two latest reviews. We too thoroughly enjoyed the service and the friendly waitress was professional and willing. Unfortunately although it was a Saturday evening the restaurant was almost empty so there wasn't much ambiance.
We enjoyed our meals and would go back if ever we were in the area again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vredendal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the Med atn Plett will see us again you bet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

the whole experience from beginning to end was great! the food was excellent, the service was excellent and the surroundings was of a high standard

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank minette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Med Seafood Bistro also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Med Seafood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing