We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seeing the dolphins = amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Blue

Ocean Blue
Ranked #5 of 21 Tours in Plettenberg Bay
Attraction details
London england
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Seeing the dolphins = amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We saw the seals on Robberg and then nothing the whole time we were out. Just before coming in, our skipper noticed something and we were zooming off only to find ourselves, in the next couple of minutes, in the middle of a huge pod of dolphins! An absolutely amazing experience and well worth doing, even if just for the launch and re beaching of the boat!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank silverwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    6
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dolphin/Seal Watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Excellent 2 hour boat trip with Ocean Blue, we were able to get very close to the dolphins who followed our boat for c30 minutes, we also saw the seal colony at Robberg. We didn't see any whales but this is to be expected in December. The guides were very knowledgeable, the boat was small and fast so it was easy to get up close. Unfortunately it was a windy day with rough seas and my husband and several other passengers were seasick - consider bringing some medication if you suffer from seasickness!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank London_girl_8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just do it. Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

No question this was worth the price of 400 Rand. 8 of us on the boat. Saw bottle nose dolphins, hump-backed whale, seals, small shark, and another species of dolphin. Exceeded expectations, great guide, fast boat. Super

Helpful?
Thank sj99ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience, brilliant company!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I spent a number of weeks based in Plettenberg Bay and during this time I was able to go on more than one whale watching tour. You are well looked after at the beginning with tea/coffee, bottles of water and assistance with life jackets. After a very informative briefing (where it is made clear no sighting is guaranteed as they are wild animals), we walked down to the beach and boarded our boat. Fortunately on all the trips I attended whales were found (and occasionally dolphins too!) and it is clear that the guides are very knowledgable. Some encounters were better than others due to behaviour and distance of the animals but even in tricky sea conditions, with large waves, the skipper and guide tried their best to spot whales before we also got the opportunity to see a large Cape Fur Seal breeding colony up close. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience and Ocean Blue Adventures even has a large selection of good quality products to purchase back in the shop. Thank you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnglishMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great whale watching experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great crew, Great boat, great trip. Great whales.
Love the boat launch of the beach!

Seeing these amazing animals is just great

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Blue also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Ocean Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing