We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food plus a view!”
Review of Lookout Deck

Lookout Deck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food plus a view!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfect location with wonderful views - beach, sunsets, and a good vantage point for spotting whales and dolphins.
We felt so welcome and the food was so fresh, tasty and great value that we ended up eating here 3 times during our 4 night stay as nowhere else compared! The seafood was delicious and the menu extensive. If you are sitting on the outside terrace they even bring you blankets when the sun sets and the temperatures start to drop. Service was great and the staff so welcoming.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaliB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    648
    225
    55
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How idyllic”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Each time we are in Plett we drop by here for a tasty meal. The setting is wonderful, and I cannot fault it. Good value for money, and even our Labs are welcome on the deck. Can I say more? Yes. But it would take too long.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkTamboerskloof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It has one of the best locations in Plettenberg Bay with a wonderful view of the sea, Lookout Beach and the mountains. There are outside and inside areas to dine.The atmosphere is relaxed yet the food is fresh, tasty and really good value. We had two excellent fish and prawn dinners there. The service was fast and efficient especially as the restaurant was full. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 284teresar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“a lovely place to eat and see the Bay”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

It is a lovely spot to relax have lunch and a drink watching the ocean and or the whales. Lovely food and lovely staff enjoyed it very much

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 95Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the beech”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Nice spot to go for breakfast as it's right on the beech. It was honestly one of the best meals that I've had in my life simply for that fact.

My wife and I enjoyed the meal, coffee, juice, atmosphere and beech all at one venue. Can you get better than that?

Value for money is an understatement. This place should go out of business they are so "cheap" (on price, not anything else)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookout Deck also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Lookout Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing