We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled Scenery”

Robberg Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Scenery”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Robberg has splendid views of Plettenberg Bay. The most amazing hiking trails for amateurs and two really great beaches. I loved the privacy of the beaches and the well maintained hiking trails!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iamthedre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,250
    229
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Highlight of South Africa”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We visited Robberg on a clear but very windy day; as it turned out the wind really added to our enjoyment. The waves on the southwestern exposure were spectacular as they crashed onto the rocks and turned the seawater into a living white mass of foam. There were white caps on the Indian Ocean as far as we could seed, and the entire seashore was spectacular. On the northeasterly quieter side, we saw literally hundreds of seals basking on the rocks. We also saw small groups of 3 or 5 seals playing in the water.

We found that we were able to walk to the Reserve from Plettenberg, and leave out car at our lodging. There is a footbridge over the stream by Beacon Island, and this allowed us to go directly to the beach. About 400 metres from the south end of the beach there is a stairway that leads to a public parking area. We used this path to get to the road leading into Robberg. The trails in the reserve can be demanding, so you need good shoes and some conditioning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice peninsula”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Beeing a Norwegian I am generally interested in nature - and plantlife especially. My wife and I were recommended visiting this beautiful peninsula by the owner of the outstanding accomodation we stayed at (Tamodi Lodge in Kerboomstrand) - and we were not disaponted! Beautiful and exciting scenery, Nice hike, and lots of Nice succulents to admire! Even some fun walking Down the steep sandhill to the Beach.
Bring water and Food as there are none during the hike. And do not start to late in the day - you will need 3 hours or more - cause there is so much beauty to see and experience. This is also depending on what hike you choose. We did the 5 km one.
I have an image-album containing images from Robberg Nature Reserve. Enjoy.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/by_geir/sets/72157645210243495/

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DesertGeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have visited Plett many times, but this was the first time we hiked Robberg as we always felt our youngest son was too young. Our family group ranged from 4 yrs up to 60's, with some novice hikers. We completed the Witsand Circuit, which took us closer to 3 hours. But it was well worth it. Would have taken longer if we didn't have my aunt and her partner with us who are avid hikers. We all loved it, and my 4 yr old was well able for it. He did need a bit of help along some parts of the route, but he really enjoyed it. However, I wouldn't try it with a child that young if the weather isn't good. Definitely bring drinks and snacks. Lots of information along the route, and stunning views. Would definitely recommend it. When he's older we'll try the full route!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My sister and I did the 5.5km trail, we went in early and spent the day at various spots on the trail. We spent most time in the seagull conservation area and listening to the seals.

The place is magical, extremely beautiful and without the tourist traffic you find in most areas around Plettenberg. There is no restaurant so please carry your water, snacks and food. Some places in the trail are very narrow and others quite slippery when wet especially the wooden paths so good footwear is required. Entry fee is R40 and only cash is accepted and bathrooms are very basic.

We loved it so much we went back one more time, did not take the hike, just carried a picnic bag and enjoyed the view.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Loise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robberg Nature Reserve also viewed

 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Robberg Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing