We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get in touch with nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robberg Nature Reserve

Robberg Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“get in touch with nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

the peninsula is a park, with a very small fee (compared to other attractions in the area) you gain access to the peninsula and its hiking traks. There are 3, each of increasing lenght and level of difficulty. We had only the afternoon and took the intermediate track, othewise I would reccomed the longer path to the furthermost point of the peninsula, possibly spending a few hours on teh incontaminated beach on the right hand side. Just a reminder to take the path anti-clockwise to avoid having to climb up teh huge sand dune separating the two sides of the peninsula

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,165
    216
    20
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

An incredibly beautiful nature reserve, the hiking trails are well laid out and maintained. Spectacular views of the bay as well as seal colonies and, particularly in the winter and autumn months, whales. Well worth the conservation fee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank leribbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, stunning strenuous walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wear good shoes, take water, and something to eat if you are going on a long walk. It takes longer than you think. We did 2/3rds and it took 3.5hrs. Camera and binoculars advisable. You would not be allowed to do a walk like this in the USA or UK, at times very steep and challenging. But do not let that put you off, there were a group of pensioner women going for it. Choice of walks, not clearly signposted. All absolutely stunning breathtaking scenery, especially the 100s of seals, the beautiful beaches and the cliff faces. Highlight of our trip.

Helpful?
Thank Corinne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

A choice of 3 walks - we opted for the middle walk, which they estimate takes about 2 hours. We managed to complete this in 3 hours, but we did keep stopping to take in the view and took our time of the beach. The walk is quite energetic and at times we had to climb over some rocks, so I would describe it more as a ramble than a walk. Lovely views though and make sure you stop to look at the seals basking in the sun. Walking down the sand dune to the beach (as part of the walk) is a lot of fun! Would definitely recommend!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bettybrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Put on your walking shoes or boot, because you must walk as many of the fantastic well planned trails as you're able. Make sure your camera is ready, as your trigger finger will be very busy trying to capture all of the incredible natural sights your eyes are seeing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vanlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robberg Nature Reserve also viewed

 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Robberg Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing