We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Relaxing, great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquavit Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Greeted and cared for by such a friendly couple (and their dogs), we felt completely welcome and enjoyed the time here. They have a guestbook for everyone to sign, which was different from the other B&Bs we stayed at, and really makes you feel like they care about their guests at Aquavit.

The room was nice, with a view of the pool and Plett bay, and the WIFI worked well.

The breakfast here is one of my most memorable from our Garden Route, with the patio seating and unbeatable view of Plettenberg, and not to mention the amazing food, including bread, croissants, fruit, yogurt, etc.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed in Sep 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Aquavit Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 462 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Aquavit for two nights at the very end of August and we could not have been happier. We drove along the Garden Route from Cape Town. It's quite a long drive and it had been raining for much of it, so being welcomed into this gorgeous guest house was exactly what we needed. Linda and Ole invited us in to the living room, chatted with us for a while, gave us a tour and then settled us into our room. They also helped us figure out dinner quickly, made reservations for us and offered us wine promptly. The internet works great. The floors are heated, the rain shower is huge and relaxing and it just couldn't be more comfortable. They also helped us plan what we were going to do with our time as we ended up with a free morning and their recommendations were perfect -- they have a wall of brochures and attraction information downstairs which is really helpful. Breakfast on the terrace is both delicious and beautiful. There is fruit, fresh baked muffins and croissants as well as a hot breakfast offered. And the views of the water and seeing whales right from the terrace is amazing. My husband was jumping the Bloukrans Bridge (bungee) the morning we left. We accidentally took the keys with us so dropped them off after, on our return and Linda and Ole were so nice and eager to learn how it went--it was like stopping by with friends. The dogs are lovely, so well behaved and darling. We really wish we could have stayed longer--it was luxurious and relaxing!

Room Tip: Being on the main floor with access to the deck is awesome.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This gorgeous house in Plett Bay was a fantastic place to stay. The owners Linda and Ole were excellent hosts and should be lauded for their painstaking effort to model their house as a B&B from the outset. However, a few things made the stay uncomfortable. The floor heating in our room was not evenly spread. The breakfast though good, did not have large servings. The dogs, though very lovely, kept disturbing the guests during breakfast, and even though I personally did not mind this, other guests could have been affected. Lastly there were some signs put up pertaining to certain house rules which unfortunately removed the "warmth" of this lovely home. Overall very good but could have been so much better.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rupert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had the most delightful stay for 3 nights and just wish we had longer. Ole and Linda were the perfect hosts booking restaurants, trips, taxis and even accommodation later in our holiday. The accommodation was top quality and the attention to detail was fantastic. You have to try the amazing pancakes, however all the breakfasts were delicious. This B&B is ideally situated for exploring the garden route and you could easily spend a week here. All the bedrooms were of the highest quality and watching the sunrise over the bay in the mornings was spectacular. Our children didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights. We arrived in a beautifully furnished guesthouse - each corner bearing interesting artifacts, stunning sculptures, tranquil decor and inspiring paintings. The service by Ole and Linda and their delightful staff was of highest quality and the breakfasts were healthy, scrumptious and beautifully presented. The room we occupied was spacious, very comfortable and peaceful. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. We arrived at a guesthouse but by the time we left, it felt like we were leaving a home. Ole and Linda are friendly, welcoming, graciously warm, and inspiring - very special people, we have had the pleasure of meeting. A home away from home. Lionel and Kecia Barry

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - no matter which one you pick, you cannot go wrong!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kecia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at Aquavit 4 nights in June. The accommodation is stunning , beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The hosts Linda and Ole were very accommodating when we arrived very late. Linda recommended a very good restaurant and went as far as making sure we had a booking for dinner at the restaurant on our arrival .I recommend Aquavit for an enjoyable stay in Plettenberg Bay .The breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the king size room is on a quieter side of the building
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our stay here was so incredible, we didn't want to leave. Linda and Ole were warm, friendly and hospitable & the guest house is furnished beautifully. Breakfast, views, the dogs were all perfect and the restaurants and sights they recommended were some of our favorites in South Africa.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eskimo118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
555 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
746 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
255 reviews
4.0 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#7 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $149 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing