We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquavit Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Inspiring tranquility”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 7 nights. We arrived in a beautifully furnished guesthouse - each corner bearing interesting artifacts, stunning sculptures, tranquil decor and inspiring paintings. The service by Ole and Linda and their delightful staff was of highest quality and the breakfasts were healthy, scrumptious and beautifully presented. The room we occupied was spacious, very comfortable and peaceful. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. We arrived at a guesthouse but by the time we left, it felt like we were leaving a home. Ole and Linda are friendly, welcoming, graciously warm, and inspiring - very special people, we have had the pleasure of meeting. A home away from home. Lionel and Kecia Barry

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - no matter which one you pick, you cannot go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kecia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
348
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at Aquavit 4 nights in June. The accommodation is stunning , beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The hosts Linda and Ole were very accommodating when we arrived very late. Linda recommended a very good restaurant and went as far as making sure we had a booking for dinner at the restaurant on our arrival .I recommend Aquavit for an enjoyable stay in Plettenberg Bay .The breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the king size room is on a quieter side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our stay here was so incredible, we didn't want to leave. Linda and Ole were warm, friendly and hospitable & the guest house is furnished beautifully. Breakfast, views, the dogs were all perfect and the restaurants and sights they recommended were some of our favorites in South Africa.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eskimo118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a very stylish and modern B&B. Linda and Ole have done an excellent job with styling the guest house. We had the honeymoon suite which was lovely. It had a four poster bed with a big bath and shower. The room was white and cream and decorated with nice modern touches. Outside our room was a large living area for the guests on the lower floor (2 rooms) and glass doors open out to a lovely garden and swimming pool. Ole noted that we had the option to choose wine from his wine cellar as part of the mini bar. Linda made fantastic blueberry muffins for breakfast and had a great selection of fruit and yoghurt. The hot breakfast was traditional fry up but with their own modern twist.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our one regret about choosing to stay at Aquavit is that we didn't stay longer. Linda and Ole are perfect hosts and should be congratulated on having created such a lovely house. It is light-filled and comfortable, full of art and books. We also enjoyed the company of their two lovely dogs. Breakfast is delicious, especially the scrambled eggs with chiles from the Olsons' garden, and the view over the bay is amazing. Advice regarding restaurants is definitely to be followed. After a long driving day, all we really wanted was a pizza and a beer. Linda and Ole sent us to The Table and it was just what we needed. The next night, they got us a table at Emily Moon and that was one of the best dining experiences we had this trip.

If we do return to South Africa (this was our third trip), a stay at Aquavit will be part of our itinerary. Thanks to Linda and Ole for their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautiful property, very well furnished and comfortable. Facilities are everything you would expect, though the wifi was a bit hit and miss. The property is on the outskirts of Plettenberg with an elevated position so the view over the bay is very nice.
Breakfast was great sitting on on the terrace with the view of the bay. Loved the dogs.
It was great staying here, we would definitely return. We would have liked to stay longer.
Linda and Ole are very knowledgeable about the local restaurants, we should have stayed with their advice every night and not done our own thing (see my review on the Seafood at The Plettenberg!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Amazing, cozy & stylish place complete with kind hosts and lovely golden retrievers plus the best breakfasts ever! We received lots of advice for great resturants and other activties. Emily Moon and Nkudu were two of the awesome tips we got. Hanging out by the pool or anywhere in the beatiful house was truly relaxing. We enjoyed our stay very much and would love to come back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMLofvenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
733 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
250 reviews
4.0 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Property: Aquavit Guest House
Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing