We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquavit Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just got back from three weeks in South Africa. We were lucky enough to spend five nights at Aquavit. The breakfast, service, cleanliness and hospitality were all amazing. They were more than happy to go out of their way and organise restaurant reservations and advise on local attractions too.

Will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
348
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days driving along the Garden Route and stayed at three different guest houses along the way. Without a doubt this guest house was the most luxurious. Although a guest house, the owner made it feel like a hotel with five star amenities, including exceptional breakfast, comprehensive wine list, concierge service (booking of restaurant reservations) and a pool. Despite these services, the owners provided a very personal touch which made us feel right at home. Simply nothing else needs to be said, if passing through Plettenberg Bay you must stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our only sadness was that we had just one night here but it was definitely the best stay of our holiday. The rooms are fantastic - real luxury and fab style plus amazing attention to detail. The pool area is also stunning and our hosts were really helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was yum too and so nice to have a complimentary drink by the pool on arrival.
In summary: Great view, amazing room, lovely hosts - would 100% recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakers_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and myself spent two nights at the Aquavit in mid November, 2012. Our hosts, Linda and Ole were fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, which we did. We even asked Ole and Linda for advice on where to change money, how much to tip, good restaurants in Plett, etc, etc.

The room was large and had all the amenities we needed. The superb view from the room and just outside the room was the highlight for us. Serene and tranquil. One could easily spend most of the day just lazing around, taking in the fantastic view. The Aquavit Guest House is probably the best B&B that we have ever stayed in, both from the decor and service point of view. We strongly recommend Aquavit and would definitely stay here again if we ever did visit Plett again.

Room Tip: Ask for Room no.1, the first on the left. The best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos501b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Aquavit is a guesthouse that you must stay at if you are visiting Plettenberg Bay. My girlfriend and I stayed 3 nights and we loved every minute. Linda and Ole made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and booked us dinner at 3 amazing restaurants.

The complimentary wine tasting (with amazing cheese) in their cellar was fantastic and we really appreciated this extra touch.

The hospitality was spot on and the rooms were amazing (each room actually had a view of the ocean!)
Breakfast was also brilliant!

Aquavit certainly deserves to be #1 in Plett and I will be recommending my friends and family to stay in the future.

Thanks,

Tim

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Honest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed very minute of our stay at Aquavit and hope to return for a much longer stay. We were greeted warmly by Ole and Linda and their two lovely goldens even though we booked at the last minute and they were busily preparing a thanksgiving celebration for friends. The house is set in a remarkable location but the design of the house--for which we found that Ole and Linda were largely responsible--is even more extraordinary. Ole and Linda used local stone and glass to a wonderful effect such that the "shared" spaces are light-filled, expansive and open. Our suite, however, was intimate, cosy and private- -just what we wanted when it was time to turn in. The gardens and pool area are also breathtaking. Ole gave us a fine recommendation for dinner as well. Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. We had more time to chat to Ole and Linda aftyer breakfast and were thoroughly charmed--in particular, our six year old son was enchanted and for the rest of our stay in South Africa, asked many times when we were returning to Aquavit! Finally, we send specials hugs to the Olsens' two very special goldens!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiecut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If there were 6* available I would give it. On our stay in South Africa we found Aquavit and the hosts Ole and Linda to be superb. It was our best accommodation experience along the garden route and it is amazing to think that Ole and Linda are only doing this 3 year. The rooms are beautiful, the communal area including the pool is of an excellent standard. The breakfast and service provided including organising restaurants/taxis/things to do was excellent. The mark of a good host is when they enhance your experience of the area and the guys here certainly did this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPGMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
724 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
765 reviews
4.0 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Property: Aquavit Guest House
Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing