We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aquavit Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here only one night but wished we had booked for longer. The house is newly refurbished and furnished in a stylish African/European mix. It is absolutely beautiful and a very relaxing athmosphere.The hosts Linda and Ole are so helpful and kind and the breakfast is amazing. Everything is done with care and with a spark, making you feel truly welcome and at home. Looking back at our vacation, this had been the best guesthose during our stay, we would return anytime and fully recommend to each of our friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Aquavit Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 462 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

I would strongly recommend this wonderful questhouse....great hospitality,warm ambience,amazing view of the bay....we felt treated as a sultans...breakfast in the morning was full of attentions and cure for quality of food , fresh juce and flowers...Linda herself was a great cooker...Ole a fantastic organizer...
unforgettable couple....
for sure one day I will come back and stay longer....
ugo& silvia ( Italy ) dec 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugosilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The property is very pleasant and attractively furnished. However, I would agree with the other poster who said that the owners are quite protective over their property. I too found it hard to fully relax during my stay.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Maurice043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed just one night here as part of our belated honeymoon touring South Africa. This was our favourite guest house of the whole trip (and we stayed in lots of lovely places!)

The guest house itself is simply stunning, beautifully decorated and of the highest standard. They even have a large water feature and huge wine cellar in the house! We had a quick tour round all the rooms when we arrived and they are all wonderful , we would have been happy to stay in any of them. The house also has the most amazing views of Plettenberg Bay, which we enjoyed while eating a delicious breakfast out on the terrace!

The hosts Ole and Linda were really lovely and gave us the best recommendations of where to go and where to eat. In our short stay we managed to fit in Bramon's for lunch (delicious Tapas in the middle of a vineyard), Emily Moons for dinner (awesome and very reasonable for such high quality), Monkleyland (I loved this place!) and Storms River (spectacular!). All of which I would recommend in a flash to anyone.

I wish we could have stayed longer and we definitely hope to go back one day. I can't recommend this guest house enough! It really is stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radders12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The standard of this property is the highest quality and hosts Linda and Ole are justifiably proud of the house that they have created.
Wonderful views from the dining terrace and designer bedrooms and bathrooms.
Hosts arranged a booking at a top restaurant and a taxi to take us there - many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Architecturally stunning guesthouse with breathtaking views over the bay, with the most beautiful breakfast we had during our entire 3 week stay in South Africa. Very helpful hosts with excellent restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanLondonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed at Aquavit on honeymoon for two nights and have an excellent stay. The guesthouse is immaculate and beautifully designed. The views from the terrace at breakfast are simply stunning and the breakfast was the best we had on our stay in South Africa (be sure to try the lemon pancakes). The hosts Linda and Ole could not have been more helpful - they booked restaurants for us (definitely go to Emily Moon) and lent us their walking poles when we went on a hike in the Robberg Peninsula. Little extras such as homemade cookies in the late afternoon and free WIFI and access to a laptop add something special too. We would recommend Aquavit to anyone and would be sure to return again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenny J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
554 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
744 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
254 reviews
4.0 mi away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#2 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 871, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $150 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Zoe and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing