We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B in Plett!!”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 85 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2010

What a fantastic location, accommodation and hospitality.... and the BEST breakfasts ever! Plettenburg Bay is one of the main towns situated on the Garden Route and is a very busy little place. Bitou River Lodge is only ten minutes' drive situated on the Bitou river banks in seclusion, peace and quiet. Paradise! Sue, our hostess, was hospitality personified - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was big and beautiful, with an enormous king size bed, and so tasteful in both architecture and furnishings. To come "home" from the hurly-burly of the coast to the solitude and natural environment of the Lodge was wonderful. To wake to the birdsong (and even spot the elusive Knysna Loerie!) was refreshing and then to sample Sue's wonderful breakfasts with homemade breads and muffins, etc. was Paradise. We are fortunate to live in South Africa for part of the year so.... WE WILL BE BACK! Thanks Sue.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Just the best review, huge thank you!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 233 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

This is a lovely guesthouse located a short drive from all the main attractions in Plettenburg Bay. The guesthouse is located on the river and the setting is very picturesque. The breakfasts are fantastic with freshly cooked bread and muffins each morning. One of the best things about the guesthouse is Sue the owner - she was fantastic and extremely helpful. Plett is a lovely town with loads to see and do including whale watching (you can see the whales from the beach) and a number of wildlife reserves. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Karen and Damian, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Wonderful review, thank you!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Fantastic accommodation in very tranquil surroundings. Just what we needed after a very extensive holiday in SA.
Sue's hospitality was excellent and she was very helpful in advising us of places to see and eat. She even booked a restaurant (excellent table) and a canopy tour for us.
After having spent quite a few nights in different locations and B&B's this was beyond doubt the best in SA. Would highly recommend this to anyone and we will certainly stay here again when we return to South Africa.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artdecoHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Yay! Thank you!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Bitou River lodge is in a great location on the banks of the Bitou River. The river is beautiful, floating purple water lillies and teaming with bird life. The room we stayed in was decorated in a duck egg blue with had high ceilings and had the ambiance of a stable conversion.

The room had a small kitchen and braii facilities on the patio. It is not suitable for full self catering but was more than adequate for preparing a braii meal in the evening. There is a fridge and well stocked honesty bar. The gardens are beautifully kept and the rooms open up through patio doors directly onto the garden and river bank. Walking through the gardens and lemon grove in bare feet in the evenings was a real pleasure.

Breakfast was served in a farm house styled dining room. The food was excellent with hot and cold choices along freshly baked breads and muffins daily.

The accomodation is more simply styled south african farmhouse than the usual for a lodge but was nicely decorated and had all necessary amenities.

Sue and Paul, the owners, are friendly and personable and made us feel extremely welcome. Sue arranged bookings for us and was attentive to any requirement we had while staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Great review!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

My husband and I attended a wedding in Plett and chose Bitou River Lodge as our base. It is situated some 5 mins from the village of Plett on the Bitou River that winds lazily passed ones bedroom window. The setting is beautiful, relaxing and peaceful. The farm atmosphere with horses, dogs and cats is just so special as you feel part of the family from the word go. Sue (the owner) had such a warm welcome for us and her attention to detail and 'going the extra mile' was very much appreciated. Long lazy breakfasts, canoeing on the river, dips in the pool, abundant bird life, beautiful views and the easy access to Plett were unbeatable ! One can feel part of the Plett hustle and bustle ... yet escape back to Bitou River Lodge and just chill !

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Yes, that's what makes living here so perfect, I agree!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Langley, Bershire, England
529
Reviewed April 6, 2006

Visited in March 2006. My husband and I stayed at the Bitou River Lodge 2 nights. This was a 5-10 minute drive from Plettenberg Bay centre however if you are happy to drive then this is a lovely B&B with unbeatable personal service from the owner, Sue. My husband is a vegetarian and she went to the effort of making him vegetable bakes for breakfast. The lodge is set in lovely grounds and canoes are provided if you wish to have a paddle down the lagoon a great activity on a sunny day. The only downside to our stay was that the Bitou River Lodge has a couple of cats and a dog (friendly) which never having had pet myself I was a little nervous off.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you for your review!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank veronika v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
294 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
819 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#14 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
140 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
315 reviews
4.7 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $132 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed... Explore the wetlands by canoe... Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches... Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality... Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing