We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Ranked #10 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bitou River Lodge. The rooms are lovely, all looking at the river and gardens. The breakfasts are fantastic, and the service is welcoming. If you enjoy convenience, yet being away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist area, you will really enjoy this lovely place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vmErwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for the thoughtful review - so much appreciated!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place is perfect for a very relaxing experience of the beaten path. If you want to enjoy a beautiful place without the big crowds around you this B&B is the place to go.
You will get a lot of helpful tips from the owner and the service is really outstanding. There are several excellent restaurants close by (less than 10 min), and the Saturday market is really interesting to visit.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Great review! Many thanks!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

You feel completely removed from everything, yet only a short drive to town or the gorgeous close by beaches. A wonderful way to relax, very comfortable, and a great host. Food was terrific, and the Bitou River over sunset was magnificent. Highly recommend a get away to the Bitou River lodge.
Thanks Sue and Paul!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thanks for the awesome review, James!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

fantastic, amazing setting and amazing rooms..

stayed with my dad while he was over from the uk and he is still talking about it!

a must stop if you are around plettenberg - highly recommended place..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review! Say hi to your dad!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We are really glad that we chose to stay at Bitou River Lodge, as it turned out to be an idyllic spot in a tranquil riverside setting, yet within a few minutes drive of Plett, where there are many restaurants, shops, beaches etc.
Sue and Paul were warm and welcoming, and very happy to give advice on the local area. There was a large and very enjoyable breakfast buffet, more than enough to keep us going all day! Our room was bright, cheerful and comfortable, and we wished we could have stayed longer. Thanks for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0tmade0fm0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for the awesome review - hope you will be able to stay longer next time!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights whilst travelling along the Garden Route. We found the accommodation extremely comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfasts were first class, we were offered a variety of fresh, local foods. Sue is a great host and the location is fantastic with views over the river and surrounding countryside. the lodge is only 10 minutes drive from Plettenberg where you can find lots of restaurants & cafes. We visited Storms River Mouth, Natures Valley & Buffalo Bay. Highly recommend staying at Bitou River Lodge.
John&Sue

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1johnandsue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review - much appreciated!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our family (one 8-year old child) stayed at Bitou River Lodge in late September 2013 during our visit to Plettenberg Bay and the Garden Route. We had originally booked for 3 nights but after spending two nights there we decided to add a fourth night so that we could continue to enjoy the comforts of the lodge and the beautiful area. A few highlights to show what a terrific hotel this is:
- Sue, the proprietor, is a terrific cook and serves a full breakfast each morning, punctuated by outstanding baked goods (scones the first day were tremendous).
- On our second morning we had booked a whale watch, but our car wouldn't start. It was too late to get a taxi, so Sue offered without our asking to give us a ride to the harbor. So kind! We made it.
- The lodge is within 10 minutes drive of the main Plett beachfront area, about 8 kilometres. It is easy to park there and then spend the day enjoying various activities, including whale watching, great beachfront eating, and swimming in the water.
- The lodge is about an hour's drive from Tsitsikamma National Park and assorted activities there, and about 45 minutes from Storm's River, which is beautiful.
- The floor is heated in the lodge and the beds and sheets were comfortable. The back wall opens up onto a pleasant sloped grassy lawn that goes down to the slow-moving river. One can take out canoes if so inclined, which we did and enjoyed.
All in all a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brk_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Big thank you for the detailed review - it's wonderful! Come again....!
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
3.9 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
208 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tarn Country House
Tarn Country House
#1 of 10 in The Crags
126 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#4 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $115 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed... Explore the wetlands by canoe... Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches... Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality... Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 7 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing